Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, February 02, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Gross, Rep. Lems, Rep. Drew Peterson, Rep. Sauder,

Rep. Schneider, Rep. Sjaarda, Rep. St. John, Rep. Wangsness, Rep. Wittman,

Rep. Overweg, and Rep. Chase

Excused: Rep. Ladner

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Chase

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 31ST

Moved by: Gross Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1100: authorize landowner-on-own-land elk licenses.

Presented by: Representative Rocky Blare

Proponents: Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Lorin D. Pankratz, Landowners and Hunters Association for South Dakota,

Deerfield Beach

Justin Bell, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre

Opponents: Mitch Richter, South Dakota Wildlife Federation, Pierre

Representative Jessica Bahmuller

George Morey Vandel III, South Dakota Wildlife Federation, Pierre

Ryan Donovan, Sioux Falls, SD, Self

Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, Pierre

Dana R. Rogers, South Dakota Bowhunters Inc., Hill City

Ed Beal, Sioux Falls, SD, Self Daniel Ridgway, Sioux Falls, SD, Self

MOTION: AMEND HB 1100

1100C

On page 1, line 10, of the Introduced bill, delete "(1) Restricts the holder to the taking of elk, from land that the holder owns, operates, or leases, within any unit, for the specified

hunting season; and

(2)" and insert "(1)"

On page 1, line 12, of the Introduced bill, after "nontransferable" insert ";

(2) Is for a specified prairie elk season; and

(3) Restricts the holder to the taking of elk from land that:

(a) The holder owns or operates;

(b) Is situated in a prairie elk unit; and

(c) Consists of at least six hundred and forty contiguous acres"

Moved by: Wittman Second by: Overweg

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DEFER HB 1100 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Gross Second by: Wittman

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Gross, Lems, Drew Peterson, Sauder, Schneider, Sjaarda, Wangsness,

Wittman, Overweg, and Chase

Voting No: St. John

Excused: Ladner

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Overweg
Second by: Drew Peterson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ ROGER CHASE Roger Chase, Chair