Committee: Senate Transportation Wednesday, February 01, 2023 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Beal, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Larson, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Zikmund,

Sen. Castleberry, and Sen. Klumb

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Klumb

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 27TH

Moved by: Deibert Second by: Castleberry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 97 UNTIL FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 03RD 2023

JOEL JUNDT OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE POSITION OF SECRETARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Presented by: Ryan Brunner, Governor's Office

Proponents: Joel Jundt, Department of Transportation

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT

OF JOEL JUNDT OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO

THE POSITION OF SECRETARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF

TRANSPORTATION

Moved by: Beal Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE REAPPOINTMENT OF JOEL JUNDT OF HUGHES COUNTY, PIERRE, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE POSITION OF SECRETARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF

POSITION OF SECRETARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF

TRANSPORTATION AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON

THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 145: revise provisions pertaining to township eligibility for the rural access infrastructure fund.

Presented by: Senator Kyle Schoenfish

Proponents: Travis Paulson, SDAT&T, Huron

Kody R. Kyriss, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron

MOTION: DO PASS SB 145

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Deibert

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 145 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1013: update references to certain federal motor carrier regulations.

Presented by: Jon Stahl, Department of Public Safety

Proponents: Dawna Leitzke, South Dakota Petroleum and Propane Marketers Association,

Pierre

Christine Vinateri-Erickson, South Dakota Trucking Association, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1013

Moved by: Beal

Second by: Castleberry

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1013 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1036: increase civil penalties for commercial driver's license holders and motor carriers.

Presented by: Jane Schrank, Department of Public Safety

Proponents: Dawna Leitzke, South Dakota Petroleum and Propane Marketers Association,

Pierre

Christine Vinateri-Erickson, South Dakota Trucking Association, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1036

Moved by: Beal Second by: Deibert

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Beal Second by: Larson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOSHUA KLUMB Joshua Klumb, Chair