Committee: House Commerce and Energy Wednesday, February 01, 2023 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Arlint, Rep. Bahmuller, Rep. Callies, Rep. Duffy, Rep. Krohmer,

Rep. Mulally, Rep. Nelson, Rep. Pinnow, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Shorma,

Rep. Perry, and Rep. Weisgram

Excused: Rep. Donnell

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Weisgram

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 25TH

Moved by: Schneider Second by: Shorma

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (9-1-3-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Duffy, Nelson, Pinnow, Schneider, Shorma, and

Weisgram

Voting No: Mulally

Excused: Donnell, Krohmer, and Perry

HB 1117: make an appropriation to support the small and mid-sized manufacturers, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Hugh M. Bartels

Proponents: Tiffany Sanderson, Lake Area Technical College

Mark Slade, SD Small Business Development Center (Handout(s) 1) Grace Beck, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Karlton Adam, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre

Dean Krogman, Independent Community of Bankers of South Dakota,

Watertown

Julie M. Johnson, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Samuel J. Nelson, Economic Development Professionals Assocation, Mitchell

Representative William Shorma

MOTION: REFER HB 1117 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by: Callies Second by: Duffy

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Duffy, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, Pinnow, Schneider,

Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

Excused: Donnell

HB 1118: make an appropriation to support the South Dakota Small Business Development Center and the South Dakota Procurement Technical Assistance Center, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Hugh M. Bartels

Proponents: Tiffany Sanderson, Lake Area Technical College

Mark Slade, SD Small Business Development Center

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Karlton Adam, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre

Dean Krogman, Independent Community of Bankers of South Dakota,

Watertown

Julie M. Johnson, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Samuel J. Nelson, Economic Development Professionals Assocation, Mitchell

Representative William Shorma

MOTION: REFER HB 1118 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by: Schneider Second by: Perry

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Arlint, Bahmuller, Callies, Duffy, Krohmer, Mulally, Nelson, Pinnow, Schneider,

Shorma, Perry, and Weisgram

Excused: Donnell

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Krohmer Second by: Mulally

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE WEISGRAM Mike Weisgram, Chair