Committee: House Judiciary Wednesday, January 25, 2023 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Kull, Rep. Massie, Rep. Odenbach, Rep. Pourier,

Rep. Reimer, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Soye, Rep. St. John, Rep. Teunissen,

Rep. Tordsen, Rep. Stevens, and Rep. Hansen

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Hansen

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 20TH

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Pourier

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1097: revise the definition of an abused or neglected child.

Presented by: Representative Fred Deutsch

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1097

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Odenbach

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Fitzgerald, Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Pourier, Reimer, Reisch, Soye, St. John,

Teunissen, Tordsen, Stevens, and Hansen

HB 1077: prohibit eligibility for a suspended imposition of sentence for certain rape offenses.

Presented by: Representative Mary J. Fitzgerald

Proponents: Tifanie Petro, Children's Home Child Advocacy Center, Rapid City

Grant M. Flynn, South Dakota State's Attorneys Association, Pierre

Robert Brancato, self

Dianna Miller, South Dakota Network Against Family Violence, Sioux Falls

Charles McGuigan, Attorney General

Kelly Patterson, Treasured Lives, Rapid City

Opponents: Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid

City

Steve Siegel, South Dakota Trial Lawyers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1077 UNTIL WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 01ST, 2023

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Reimer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1041: provide an exception to the definition of drug paraphernalia.

Presented by: Representative Taylor Rehfeldt Proponents: Dr. Melissa Dittberner, self

Justin Bell, South Dakota State Medical Association, Sioux Falls (Handout(s)

1)

Edward Krumpotich, National Harm Reduction Coalition

Angela Kennecke, Emily's Hope, Sioux Falls

Tiffany Thoelke, self

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1041

Moved by: Tordsen Second by: Kull

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Kull, Massie, Odenbach, Pourier, Reimer, Reisch, St. John, Teunissen,

Tordsen, Stevens, and Hansen

Voting No: Fitzgerald and Soye

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Odenbach Second by: Reimer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Janelle Toman, Committee Secretary

/s/ JON HANSEN Jon Hansen, Chair