Committee: Senate Transportation Wednesday, January 25, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Beal, Sen. Deibert, Sen. Larson, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Zikmund,

Sen. Castleberry, and Sen. Klumb

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

#### The meeting was called to order by Senator Klumb

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 20<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Beal Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Presentation by: Secretary Craig Price, South Dakota Department of Public Safety

### SB 61: revise driver's license suspensions for restricted permit holders over the age of sixteen.

Presented by: Senator John Wiik

Proponents: Dan Lusk, Department of Public Safety

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 61

Moved by: Beal Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 61 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

# SB 66: modify provisions related to the suspension of probationary permits issued to minors.

Presented by: Senator Tom Pischke

Opponents: Dan Lusk, Department of Public Safety

Richard Tieszen, State Farm Insurance, Bloomington, MN

### MOTION: DEFER SB 66 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Beal

Second by: Castleberry

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

# SB 71: authorize other fuel taxes to be included in the state's International Fuel Tax Agreement collections.

Presented by: Senator Joshua Klumb

Proponents: Rosa Yaeger, Department of Revenue (Handout(s) 1)

Dawna Leitzke, South Dakota Petroleum and Propane Marketers Association,

Pierre

William M. Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 71

Moved by: Beal Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Deibert, Larson, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Castleberry, and Klumb

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Deibert Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOSHUA KLUMB Joshua Klumb, Chair