Committee: Joint Committee on Appropriations Thursday, January 26, 2023 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Ernie Otten, Rep. Kassin, Rep. Mills, Sen. Wiik, Rep. Duba, Sen. Foster,

Sen. David Johnson, Rep. Krull, Sen. Maher, Rep. Karr, Rep. Koth, Sen. Jack Kolbeck, Sen. Bolin, Sen. Wink, Rep. Venhuizen, Sen. Breitling, Rep. Derby,

and Sen. Hunhoff

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Hunhoff

The Department of Education completed the overview presentation of the Department of Education budget.

Joseph Graves, Secretary, Department of Education,

Cody Stoeser, Division Director, Finance and Management,

Linda Turner, Director of Special Education and Early Learning,

Shannon Malone, Director of Learning and Instruction,

completed the overview of the Department of Education budget carried over from 1/25/2023.

Morgan Gruebele, Bureau of Finance and Management. provided input to answer questions.

The Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources presented an overview of the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources budget.

Hunter Roberts, Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources,

Darcy Keiser, Finance Officer, Fiscal Management,

Bill Smith, Division Director, Resource Conservation and Forestry,

presented an overview of the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources budget.

Danita Murry, South Dakota Corn Council, provided input to answer questions.

SB 12: authorize the construction of a National Guard vehicle maintenance shop in Watertown, to make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Jeff Marlette, Department of the Military (Handout(s) 1)

MOTION: DO PASS SB 12

Moved by: Breitling

Second by: Venhuizen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (18-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Ernie Otten, Kassin, Mills, Wiik, Duba, Foster, David Johnson, Krull, Maher,

Karr, Koth, Jack Kolbeck, Bolin, Wink, Venhuizen, Breitling, Derby, and

Hunhoff

SB 13: authorize the construction of an addition to the BG Dean Mann Readiness Center in Sioux Falls, to make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Jeff Marlette, Department of the Military

Proponents: Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 13

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Jack Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (18-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Ernie Otten, Kassin, Mills, Wiik, Duba, Foster, David Johnson, Krull, Maher,

Karr, Koth, Jack Kolbeck, Bolin, Wink, Venhuizen, Breitling, Derby, and

Hunhoff

SB 14: revise the legal description for the construction of a National Guard Readiness Center in Sioux Falls, make an additional appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Jeff Marlette, Department of the Military

MOTION: AMEND SB 14

14A

On page 1, line 22, of the Introduced bill, delete " Tract 3 less the western most five (5) acres of said Tract, and all of Tract 4," and insert " Tract 4 and Tract 5 of"

On page 1, line 23, of the Introduced bill, after "Falls" delete ", Located in the SE1/4 of Section 35,

T102N-R49W of the 5th P. M., City of Sioux Falls"

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Ernie Otten

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 14 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Jack Kolbeck

Second by: Koth

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (18-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Ernie Otten, Kassin, Mills, Wiik, Duba, Foster, David Johnson, Krull, Maher,

Karr, Koth, Jack Kolbeck, Bolin, Wink, Venhuizen, Breitling, Derby, and

Hunhoff

HB 1026: make an appropriation for costs related to suppression of wildfires in the state and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Angie Lemieux, Department of Public Safety (Handout(s) 2)

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1026

Moved by: Ernie Otten Second by: David Johnson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (18-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Ernie Otten, Kassin, Mills, Wiik, Duba, Foster, David Johnson, Krull, Maher,

Karr, Koth, Jack Kolbeck, Bolin, Wink, Venhuizen, Breitling, Derby, and

Hunhoff

HB 1027: make an appropriation for costs related to disasters in the state and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Angie Lemieux, Department of Public Safety (Handout(s) 2)

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1027

Moved by: Wiik Second by: Duba

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (18-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Ernie Otten, Kassin, Mills, Wiik, Duba, Foster, David Johnson, Krull, Maher,

Karr, Koth, Jack Kolbeck, Bolin, Wink, Venhuizen, Breitling, Derby, and

Hunhoff

HB 1034: modify tax refunds for elderly persons and persons with a disability, to make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Jason Evans, Department of Revenue Proponents: Jennifer Stalley, AARP, Sioux Falls

Cathy Brechtelsbauer, self, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1034

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (16-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Ernie Otten, Kassin, Mills, Wiik, Duba, Foster, David Johnson, Krull, Karr,

Koth, Bolin, Wink, Venhuizen, Breitling, Derby, and Hunhoff

Excused: Maher and Jack Kolbeck

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 25TH

Moved by: Krull Second by: Wink Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Wiik
Second by: Ernie Otten
Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Leonard Chick, Committee Secretary

/s/ JEAN HUNHOFF /s/ MIKE DERBY
Jean Hunhoff, Co-Chair Mike Derby, Co-Chair