Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy Tuesday, January 24, 2023 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Sen. Steve Kolbeck, Sen. Nesiba,

Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Zikmund, Sen. Beal, and Sen. Wheeler

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Wheeler

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 19TH

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 62: amend provisions regarding delivery of electronic insurance

documents.

Presented by: Senator Steve Kolbeck

Proponents: Justin G. Smith, Wellmark of South Dakota, Inc., Des Moines, IA

Mitchell Rave, Sanford Health, Sioux Falls Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera Health, Sioux Falls

MOTION: AMEND SB 62

62A

On page 1, line 20, of the Introduced bill, after "electronic" insert " means"

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 62 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Beal Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Steve Kolbeck, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Zikmund, Beal, and Wheeler

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 62 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1012: repeal the annual grievance reporting requirements for health carriers.

Proponents: Jill Kruger, Department of Labor and Regulation

Darla Pollman Rogers, Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Des Moines, IA

Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera Health, Sioux Falls Mitchell Rave, Sanford Health, Sioux Falls MOTION: DO PASS HB 1012

Moved by: Beal Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Steve Kolbeck, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Zikmund, Beal, and Wheeler

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1012 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1011: revise employer contribution rates.

Proponents: Marcia Hultman, Department of Labor and Regulation

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre Julie M. Johnson, SD Society of Human Resource Managers, Watertown

Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Home Builders Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1011

Moved by: Schoenbeck

Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Steve Kolbeck, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Zikmund, Beal, and Wheeler

Voting No: Nesiba

HB 1015: update provisions related to the licensure of funeral directors and the provision of funeral services.

Proponents: Jasper Diegel, South Dakota Funeral Directors Association, Pierre

Randy Brennick, Board of Funeral Services

Brooke Geddes, Board of Funeral Services (Handout(s) #1)

MOTION: AMEND HB 1015

1015A

On page 5, line 7, of the Introduced bill, after "licensed " insert "as a funeral director "

On page 5, line 11, of the Introduced bill, delete "Direct " and insert "Conduct "

On page 5, line 11, of the Introduced bill, after "supervise" delete " funerals"

On page 5, line 11, of the Introduced bill, after "practice" insert " funeral services and burials of casketed remains"

On page 5, line 12, of the Introduced bill, after "practice;

(4)" delete "Practice funeral service"

On page 5, line 13, of the Introduced bill, after "maintain" delete "(5)"

Moved by: Steve Kolbeck

Second by: Nesiba

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1015 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Beal

Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Crabtree, Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Steve Kolbeck, Nesiba, Schoenbeck, Stalzer,

Zikmund, Beal, and Wheeler

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1015 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Susan Gullickson, Committee Secretary

/s/ DAVID WHEELER
David Wheeler, Chair