Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural ResourcesThursday, January 19, 2023 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Klumb, Sen. Larson, Sen. Mehlhaff, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Tobin,

Sen. Deibert, and Sen. Herman Otten

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Herman Otten

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 17TH

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Informational Briefing - Lt. Governor Larry Rhoden

Presentation by: Secretary Hunter Roberts, Department of Agriculture and Natural

Resources and Beth Thompson State Veterinarian, Animal Industry Board

SB 17: make appropriations for water and environmental purposes and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Mike Perkovich, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources (Handout(s) 1) Proponents: Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems,

Madison

David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Julie M Johnson, WEB Water, Aberdeen

Gregory Powell, Randall Community Water District, Lake Andes

Angela Ehlers, SD Assn of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Troy Larson, Lewis & Clark Water System, Tea Dale Tech, West Regional Water System, Rapid City

MOTION: REFER SB 17 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by: Tobin Second by: Klumb

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Present (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Herman Otten

SB 20 : authorize the awarding of deobligated grants in accordance with policies of the Board of Water and Natural Resources.

Presented by: Andy Bruels, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources (Handout(s) 2)

Proponents: David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems,

Madison

MOTION: DO PASS SB 20

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Tobin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Larson, Mehlhaff, Novstrup, Tobin, Deibert, and Herman Otten

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 20 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Deibert

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair