Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, January 19, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Auch, Rep. Gross, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Lems, Rep. Drew Peterson,

Rep. Sauder, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Sjaarda, Rep. St. John, Rep. Wangsness,

Rep. Wittman, Rep. Overweg, and Rep. Chase

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Chase

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 17TH

Moved by: Gross Second by: Overweg

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Introduction to the Department of Agriculture presentation was given by the Lt. Governor

Larry Rhoden.

Secretary Hunter Roberts gave the Annual Department Report to the committee.

Dr. Beth Thompson, State Veterinarian Discussed the Animal Industry Board.

HB 1025: revise the fees for registration of an apiary.

Presented by: Brenda Sievers, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: John Baysinger, Self, Woonsocket, SD

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1025

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Wangsness

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Gross, Ladner, Lems, Drew Peterson, Sauder, Schneider, Sjaarda, St.

John, Wangsness, Wittman, Overweg, and Chase

HB 1028: modify expiration dates and enforcement actions pertaining to pesticide applicator licenses.

Presented by: Tom Gere, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources

Proponents: Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1028

Moved by: Overweg Second by: Wangsness

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Auch, Gross, Ladner, Lems, Drew Peterson, Sauder, Schneider, Sjaarda, St.

John, Wangsness, Wittman, Overweg, and Chase

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1028 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1029 : revise certain provisions regarding the county zoning and appeals process.

Presented by: Hunter Roberts, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources

Proponents: Lorin D. Pankratz, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls

Lorin D. Pankratz, South Dakota Dairy Producers, Brookings

Samuel J. Nelson, South Dakota Corn Growers Association, Sioux Falls

Larry A Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

Opponents: Paul Lepisto, SD Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1029

Moved by: Gross Second by: Wangsness

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Gross, Drew Peterson, Sauder, Schneider, St. John, Wangsness, and Chase

Voting No: Auch, Ladner, Lems, Sjaarda, Wittman, and Overweg

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Wangsness Second by: Sauder

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ ROGER CHASE Roger Chase, Chair