Committee: Senate Education Thursday, January 19, 2023 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bordeaux, Sen. Davis, Sen. Pischke, Sen. Reed, Sen. Steve Kolbeck, and

Sen. Schoenfish

Excused: Sen. Castleberry

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Schoenfish

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 12TH

Moved by: Reed Second by: Pischke

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 39

INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

Dr. Joe Graves, Secretary, Department of Education, handout #1 online

BROCK BROWN OF HAMLIN COUNTY, LAKE NORDEN, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BOARD OF REGENTS

Presented by: Ben Koisti, Governor's Office Proponents: Nathan Lukkes, Board of Regents

Caleb Joseph Weiland, South Dakota Student Federation, Pierre

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT

OF BROCK BROWN OF HAMLIN COUNTY, LAKE NORDEN, SOUTH

DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BOARD OF REGENTS

Moved by: Davis Second by: Reed

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Davis, Pischke, Reed, Steve Kolbeck, and Schoenfish

Excused: Castleberry

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED THE APPOINTMENT OF BROCK BROWN OF HAMLIN COUNTY, LAKE NORDEN, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE STATE BOARD OF REGENTS AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH

BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: Motion to hear SB24

Moved by: Pischke

Second by: Davis

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 24: revise property tax levies for school districts and to revise the state aid to general and special education formulas.

Proponents: Morgan Gruebele, Bureau of Finance and Management

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre (Handout(s)

2)

Rob L Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

MOTION: REFER SB 24 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by: Reed

Second by: Steve Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bordeaux, Davis, Pischke, Reed, Steve Kolbeck, and Schoenfish

Excused: Castleberry

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Bordeaux Second by: Davis

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ KYLE SCHOENFISH
Kyle Schoenfish, Chair