Committee: House State Affairs

### Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bartels, Rep. Blare, Rep. Cammack, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Chase, Rep. Drury, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Healy, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Wangsness, Rep. Rehfeldt, and Rep. Mortenson

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

#### The meeting was called to order by Representative Mortenson

#### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 18<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by:ChaffeeSecond by:BartelsAction:Prevailed by voice vote

## SB 41 : establish a program for housing infrastructure loans and grants, make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Roger Chase

Proponents: Senator Casey Crabtree

Denise Hanzlik, South Dakota Multi Housing Association, Sioux Falls Rachel Oglesby, Governor's Office Tobin J. Morris, Colliers Securitites LLC, Pierre (Handout(s) #1) David Reiss, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Jeff Griffin, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls Matt Krogman, South Dakota Association of Realtors, Pierre Matt Krogman, Brookings Economic Development Corp., Brookings Dean Krogman, Independent Community of Bankers of South Dakota, Watertown Dean Krogman, SD Multi-Housing Association, Sioux Falls Karlton Adam, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre Erik Nelson, AARP South Dakota, Sioux Falls Gregory Powell, Randall Community Water District, Lake Andes Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Home Builders Association, Pierre Matthew M Boque, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems, Madison David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Pamela A Bonrud, NorthWestern Energy, Sioux Falls Katie Sieverding, SD Manufactured Housing Association, Pierre Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre Samuel J. Nelson, Economic Development Professionals Assocation, Mitchell Samuel J. Nelson, Missouri River Energy Services, Sioux Falls Samuel J. Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Kristie Jacobsen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre Roger Tellinghuisen, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City Craig Matson, Deadwood Gaming Association, Deadwood Julie M Johnson, Homes For South Dakota, Sisseton Julie M. Johnson, Homes are Possible Inc. (HAPI), Aberdeen

Julie M. Johnson, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen Opponents: Brian Burge, self, Beresford

#### MOTION: DO PASS SB 41

Moved by: Ca	mmack
--------------	-------

- Second by: Rehfeldt
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Healy, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson
- Voting No: Hansen

# HB 1003 : repeal provisions requiring prison or jail cost estimates and to declare an emergency.

Presented by	: Representative Hugh M. Bartels (Handout(s) #2)
	Greg Sattizahn, Unified Judicial System
	Brian Burge, self, Beresford
Opponents:	Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid
	City

### MOTION: DO PASS HB 1003

Moved	by:	Chase
-------	-----	-------

- Second by: Drury
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Hansen, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson
- Voting No: Healy and Lesmeister

HCR 6003 : Encouraging the Executive Board of the Legislature to authorize the interim legislative study of long-term care services for veterans regardless of disability ratings and to develop long-term care plans for VA-operated purchased and subsidized long-term care services.

Presented by: Representative Kenneth Teunissen

#### MOTION: ADOPT RESOLUTION HCR 6003

Moved by:	Rehfeldt
Second by:	Lesmeister
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Blare, Cammack, Chaffee, Chase, Drury, Hansen, Healy, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wangsness, Rehfeldt, and Mortenson

#### MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee

Second by: Chase Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ WILL MORTENSON Will Mortenson, Chair