Committee: House Education Wednesday, January 18, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. DeGroot, Rep. Heermann, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Callies, Rep. Arlint,

Rep. Sauder, Rep. Moore, Rep. Mulder, Rep. Emery, Rep. Odenbach,

Rep. Soye, Rep. Phil Jensen, Rep. Tordsen, Rep. Deutsch, and Rep. Stevens

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Stevens

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, JANUARY 13<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Phil Jensen Second by: Mulder

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1055: increase the dollar amount of South Dakota opportunity scholarships.

Presented by: Representative Tony Venhuizen (Handout(s) 1)
Proponents: Heather Forney, Board of Regents (Handout(s) 2)

Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Association of Independent Colleges, Sioux

Falls

Grace Beck, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Tim Rave, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux Falls

Rob L Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Opponents: Brandy Miesner, Bureau of Finance and Management

**MOTION:** REFER HB 1055 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO

**PASS** 

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: DeGroot

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

HB 1056: modify the limit of consecutive terms for members of the Board of Technical Education.

Presented by: Representative Tony Venhuizen

Proponents: Senator Jim Bolin

Grace Beck, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre **MOTION: DO PASS HB 1056** 

Moved by: Moore Second by: Tordsen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1056 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1032: make an appropriation for the demolition and reconstruction of agricultural-use structures at South Dakota State University, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Barry Mielke, Board of Regents

**MOTION:** AMEND HB 1032

1032A

On page 2, after line 10, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

## Section 5. That a NEW SECTION be added:

The administration of the design and construction of the projects listed in section 2 of this

Act are under the general charge and supervision of the Bureau of

Administration, as provided for in chapter 5-14."

Moved by: Heermann Second by: Arlint

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: REFER HB 1032 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS AS

**AMENDED DO PASS** 

Moved by: DeGroot Second by: Odenbach

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

HCR 6001: To study a potential optional educational path.

Presented by: Representative Fred Deutsch

Proponents: Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group (Aberdeen), Aberdeen

**MOTION:** DO PASS HCR 6001

Moved by: Callies Second by: Mulder Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (15-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: DeGroot, Heermann, Reisch, Callies, Arlint, Sauder, Moore, Mulder, Emery,

Odenbach, Soye, Phil Jensen, Tordsen, Deutsch, and Stevens

## HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HCR 6001 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

Department of Education Secretary Joseph Graves gave an informational presentation to the committee.

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Phil Jensen Second by: Tordsen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Julianne Graham, Committee Secretary

/s/ MIKE STEVENS Mike Stevens, Chair