Committee: Senate Judiciary Tuesday, January 17, 2023 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Diedrich, Sen. Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Sen. Mehlhaff, Sen. Rohl,

Sen. Wheeler, Sen. Stalzer, and Sen. Duhamel

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Duhamel

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 12<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Diedrich

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Dianna Miller - Large School Group, HO#2;

Rob Monson - School Administrators of South Dakota;

Wade Pogany - Associated School Boards of South Dakota, HO#1

Stacey Ackerman - SD Sheriffs Association; Patrick Callahan - Hughes County Sheriff

## SB 53: exempt records regarding jail inmate disciplinary matters from public inspection and copying.

Presented by: Senator Helene Duhamel

Proponents: Rob Yantis, Administrator Pennington County Jail, Rapid City

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 53

Moved by: Wheeler Second by: Mehlhaff

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Diedrich, Mehlhaff, Rohl, Wheeler, Stalzer, and Duhamel

Voting No: Brent "B.R." Hoffman

## SB 54: require a convicted defendant to reimburse for the cost of digital forensic examination fees.

Presented by: Senator Helene Duhamel

Proponents: Brent Gromer, Internet Crimes Against Children, Rapid City

Toby Russell, DCI/Internet Crimes Against Children, Mitchell John Pizzuro, Raven CEO/Internet Crimes Against Children, NJ

Opponents: Terra Larson, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid

City

## **MOTION:** AMEND SB 54

54A

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete "shall" and insert "may"

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Wheeler

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 54 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Diedrich

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Diedrich, Brent "B.R." Hoffman, Mehlhaff, Rohl, Stalzer, and Duhamel

Voting No: Wheeler

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Mehlhaff

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary

/s/ HELENE DUHAMEL Helene Duhamel, Chair