Committee: House Judiciary

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Kull, Rep. Massie, Rep. Odenbach, Rep. Pourier, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Reisch, Rep. Soye, Rep. St. John, Rep. Teunissen, Rep. Tordsen, Rep. Stevens, and Rep. Hansen

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Hansen

MOTION: INTRODUCE A BILL AT THE REQUEST OF THE OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE ENTITLED:

An Act to repeal provisions regarding criminal jury trials effective upon the adoption of Supreme Court rules.

Moved by:	Stevens
Second by:	Reimer
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: INTRODUCE A BILL AT THE REQUEST OF THE OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE ENTITLED:

An Act to clarify the convening of recount boards for primary elections.

Moved by:	Stevens
Second by:	Reimer
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: INTRODUCE A BILL AT THE REQUEST OF THE OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE ENTITLED:

An Act to require the Unified Judicial System to assemble a task force to address barriers to services for emerging adults involved in the justice system in South Dakota.

Moved by: Stevens

Second by: Reimer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: INTRODUCE A BILL AT THE REQUEST OF THE OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE ENTITLED:

An Act to require the Unified Judicial System to assemble a task force to address the provision of legal services to indigent parties within the South Dakota court system.

Moved by:StevensSecond by:ReimerAction:Prevailed by voice vote

House Judiciary

Informational Briefing Introductions and information were shared by: Greg Sattizahn, State Court Administrator, Unified Judicial System Kellie Wasko, Secretary, Department of Corrections Brittni Skipper, Director of Finance & Administration, Department of Corrections Charlie McGuigan, Deputy Attorney General for the Civil Division, Attorney General's Office Stephen Gemar, Assistant Attorney General, Attorney General's Office

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:SoyeSecond by:OdenbachAction:Prevailed by voice vote

Janelle Toman, Committee Secretary

/s/ JON HANSEN Jon Hansen, Chair