

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2023 South Dakota Legislature

Senate Bill 44

Introduced by: Senator Schoenbeck

An Act to repeal provisions regarding the creation of river basin natural resource districts.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:

Pursuant to §§ 46A-19-3 to 46A-19-11, inclusive, the state is divided into nine river basin natural resource districts. Each district is a political subdivision of the state.

Section 2. That § 46A-19-2 be REPEALED:

Section 1. That § 46A-19-1 be REPEALED:

As used in this chapter, the term, district, means one of the river basin natural resource districts created by this chapter.

Section 3. That § 46A-19-3 be REPEALED:

The Red River and Minnesota River Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Brookings, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Marshall, and Roberts counties located in the Red River hydrologic basin and the Minnesota River hydrologic basin.

Section 4. That § 46A-19-4 be REPEALED:

The Big Sioux River Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Brookings, Clark, Clay, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, Marshall, McCook, Minnehaha, Moody, Roberts, Turner, and Union counties located in the Big Sioux River hydrologic basin.

Section 5. That § 46A-19-5 be REPEALED:

The Vermillion River Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Brookings, Clark, Clay, Hamlin, Hutchinson, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Turner, Union, and Yankton counties located in the Vermillion River hydrologic basin.

Section 6. That § 46A-19-6 be REPEALED:

The James River Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brown, Clark, Davison, Day, Douglas, Edmunds, Faulk, Hand, Hanson, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Marshall, McCook, McPherson, Miner, Potter, Roberts, Sanborn, Spink, Turner, and Yankton counties located in the James River hydrologic basin.

Section 7. That § 46A-19-7 be REPEALED:

The Upper Missouri River Trench Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Edmunds, Faulk, Haakon, Hughes, Hyde, McPherson, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Walworth, and Ziebach counties located in the Upper Missouri River Trench hydrologic basin.

Section 8. That § 46A-19-8 be REPEALED:

The Lower Missouri River Trench Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Faulk, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jackson, Jones, Jerauld, Lyman, Pennington, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Tripp, Union, and Yankton counties located in the Lower Missouri River Trench hydrologic basin.

Section 9. That § 46A-19-9 be REPEALED:

The Little Missouri River, Cannonball River, Moreau River, and Grand River Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Butte, Corson, Dewey, Harding, Meade, Perkins, and Ziebach counties located in the Little Missouri River hydrologic basin, the Cannonball River hydrologic basin, the Moreau River hydrologic basin, and the Grand River hydrologic basin.

Section 10. That § 46A-19-10 be REPEALED:

The Belle Fourche River and the Cheyenne River Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Butte, Custer, Fall River, Haakon, Lawrence, Meade, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, and Ziebach and counties located in the Belle Fourche River hydrologic basin and the Cheyenne River hydrologic basin.

Section 11. That § 46A-19-11 be REPEALED:

The White River and Niobrara River Basin Natural Resource District is hereby established. The district shall include the portions of Bennett, Fall River, Gregory, Jackson, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Todd, and Tripp counties located in the White River hydrologic basin and the Niobrara River hydrologic basin.

Section 12. That § 46A-19-16 be REPEALED:

Each district is governed by a council. The size of each district council is determined by the task force based on the population and the geography of the district.

Section 13. That § 46A-19-17 be REPEALED:

Five percent of the electors of a district may petition the district council to submit to an election the question of whether the district should become dormant. The election shall be conducted, canvassed, recounted, and contested as elections under the general laws of this state. No district may become dormant unless sixty percent or more of the votes cast are in favor of the district becoming dormant.