AGENDA

Study Committee on Regional Jails and State Correctional Plans

Senator Jim Stalzer, Chair Representative Hugh Bartels, Vice Chair



First Meeting, 2022 Interim Thursday, June 9, 2022 Room 414 – State Capitol Pierre, South Dakota

| 10:00 AM (CT) | Call to order Determination of a quorum Chair remarks Discussion of committee scope |
|---------------|--|
| 10:15 AM | Kellie Wasko, Secretary, Department of Corrections |
| 10:45 AM | Kris Jacobsen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Mike Wiese, Brown County Lee Gabel, Codington County Randy Deibert, Lawrence County |
| 12:15 PM | Break for lunch |
| 1:30 PM | Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs' Association |
| 2:00 PM | Amanda Essex, National Conference of State Legislatures, Criminal and Civil Justice Program |
| 2:30 PM | Legislative Research Council staff presentation - Review of regional jail statutes |
| 2:45 PM | Public testimony |
| 3:15 PM | Discussion of future meeting dates - Off-site meetings Staff directives Adjourn |

PLEASE NOTE: The above times are approximate. Written testimony must be received at least 48 hours prior to the meeting to be considered at the meeting.

Members: Senators Jim Stalzer, Jim Bolin, Bryan Breitling, Helene Duhamel, Al Novstrup, Michael Rohl, and Arthur Rusch and **Representatives** Hugh Bartels, Rocky Blare, Becky Drury, Mary Fitzgerald, Carl Perry, Peri Pourier, Lynn Schneider, and Nancy York

This meeting is being held in a physically accessible location. Any individual needing assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Legislative Research Council (605-773-3251) in advance of the meeting to make further arrangements.

All committee agendas, minutes, and audio are available on the LRC website: https://www.sdlegislature.gov/. Live committee audio is provided by South Dakota Public Broadcasting and is also available at https://www.sd.net/. You may subscribe to electronic delivery of agendas and minutes at My LRC on the LRC website.