Committee: House State Affairs

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Anderson, Rep. Beal, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Gosch, Rep. Hansen, Rep. Kevin Jensen, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Jamie Smith, Rep. Wiese, Rep. Chris Johnson, and Rep. Kent Peterson

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Kent Peterson

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 28TH

Moved by:	Beal
Second by:	Kevin Jensen
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Representative Peterson, Chair, passed the gavel to Representative Johnson, Vice Chair.

SB 142 : establish provisions for medical services.

Presented by: Representative Kent Peterson, District 19

MOTION: DO PASS SB 142

Moved by:	Gosch
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)
Voting Yes:	Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister, Reimer, Jamie Smith, Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

Excused: Hansen

SB 143 : establish provisions related to education.

Presented by: Representative Kent Peterson, District 19

MOTION: DO PASS SB 143

Moved by:	Gosch
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister, Reimer, Jamie Smith, Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

SB 122 : prohibit private funding of election costs except for gifts of a nominal and intrinsic value.

Presented by: Representative Kent Peterson, District 19

Proponents: Steve Barnett, Secretary of State, State of South Dakota T.J. Nelson, Opportunity Solutions Project, Tallahassee, FL Joanna Smith, self, Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS SB 122

Moved by:	Gosch
Second by:	Beal
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister, Reimer, Jamie Smith, Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 122 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

The gavel was passed back to Representative Peterson.

SB 69 : provide for an electronic system to update voter registration information.

Presented by: Steve Barnett, Secretary of State, State of South Dakota (Handout(s) #1) Proponents: Erik Nelson, AARP, Sioux Falls

Proponents: Erik Nelson, AARP, Sloux Falls

Opponents: Jessica Pollema, self, Tea

Joanna Smith, self, Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS SB 69

Moved by: Jamie Smith

Second by: Lesmeister

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 69 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by:	Hansen
Second by:	Gosch
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)

- Voting Yes: Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Reimer, Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson
- Voting No: Anderson, Lesmeister, and Jamie Smith

SB 172 : revise provisions regarding eligibility for parole for certain persons sentenced to life imprisonment.

Presented by: Senator Arthur Rusch, District 17 (Handout(s) #2) Proponents: Steve Manlove, MD, self, Rapid City Justin Bell, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid City (Handout(s) #3) Michael Huber, Self, Sioux Falls Steve Siegel, South Dakota Trial Lawyers Association, Sioux Falls Sam Lopez, self, Crooks

Opponents: Charles McGuigan, Office of the Attorney General Bridget Coppersmith, Department of Corrections Jessica LaMie, self, Pierre (Handout(s) #4) Grant M. Flynn, South Dakota State's Attorneys Association, Pierre

Representative Peterson, Chair, passed the gavel to Representative Johnson, Vice Chair.

MOTION: DEFER SB 172 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-1-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister, Reimer, Wiese, and Chris Johnson
- Voting No: Jamie Smith
- Excused: Kent Peterson

SB 212 : revise certain fees collected by the Office of the Secretary of State.

Presented by: Jeff Partridge, Bureau of Finance and Management

Proponents: Brian Gosch, National Rifle Association, Fairfax, VA

Others: Morgan Gruebele, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: AMEND SB 212

On the Senate Engrossed bill, delete the previously adopted amendment(s), thus restoring the bill to the Introduced version.

On page 10, after line 7, insert: "

Section 16. That chapter 23-7 be amended with a NEW SECTION:

<u>The Office of the Secretary of State shall reimburse counties based on the number of</u> concealed carry permits issued each year. The reimbursement amount is:

- (1) Three dollars for an initial permit to carry a concealed pistol issued under § 23-7-8.2;
- (2) Three dollars for renewal of a permit to carry a concealed pistol issued under § 23-7-6.2,

<u>8.11;</u>

- (3) Fifty dollars for an initial enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol issued under § 23-7-53;
- (4) Twenty-five dollars for renewal of an enhanced permit to carry a concealed pistol issued under § 23-7-56;
- (5) Thirty dollars for an initial gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol issued under § 23-7-60; and
- (6) Thirty dollars for renewal of a gold card permit to carry a concealed pistol issued under § 23-7-62.
- The Office of the Secretary of State shall develop and provide to counties a form on which
the counties may submit the number of permits issued each calendar year.
The form must be submitted to the Office of the Secretary of State on or
before January thirty- first. The Office of the Secretary of State shall
reimburse the counties on or before March thirty-first. The reimbursements

must be paid on vouchers approved by the secretary of state and paid on warrants drawn by the state auditor. Only those permits issued on or after July 1, 2022, are eligible for reimbursement in accordance with this section." Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal Action: Prevailed by voice vote **DO PASS SB 212 AS AMENDED** MOTION: Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0) Voting Yes: Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister, Reimer, and Chris Johnson Voting No: Anderson, Jamie Smith, and Wiese Excused: Kent Peterson **ADJOURN** MOTION:

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ KENT PETERSON Kent Peterson, Chair