Committee: House Education Wednesday, March 02, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Bartels, Rep. Dennert, Rep. Deutsch, Rep. Healy, Rep. Phil Jensen,

Rep. Keintz, Rep. Marty, Rep. Miskimins, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Odenbach,

Rep. Stevens, Rep. Sue Peterson, and Rep. Lana Greenfield

Excused: Rep. Davis and Rep. Soye

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Lana Greenfield

## **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 25<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Phil Jensen Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

## SB 139: provide for the creation and funding of Oceti Sakowin community-based schools.

Presented by: Senator Troy Heinert, District 26 (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Sarah White, self Rapid City

Abby Menter, self, Mission Senator V.J. Smith District 7

Ross B Garelick Bell, South Dakota Education Equity Coalition, Rapid City

Representative Peri Pourier, District 27 Brandee Bolman, Self, Sioux Falls

Lisa Nolen, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

Matthew Kull, Self, Fruitdale Joleva "JoDee" Wike, self Mary Bowman, self, Rapid City

Kellen Returns from Scout, Great Plains Tribal Chairman's Association, Rapid

City

Lakeina In The Woods, Self, Rapid City

Opponents: Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Pierre

Mitch Richter, United School Association of South Dakota, Madison Sandra Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Sam Nelson, Sioux Falls School District, Canton

## **MOTION:** AMEND SB 139

139B

On page 16, line 8, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "13-37." insert " Notwithstanding anything else

in this section, any funding transferred to the Oceti Sakowin community-based school must be net of any moneys required to provide special education services under chapter 13–37 to Oceti Sakowin students, or any federal funds for which such a

transfer would be unlawful."

Moved by: Healy

Second by: Dennert

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 139 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Healy Second by: Keintz

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-8-3-0)

Voting Yes: Dennert, Healy, Keintz, and Odenbach

Voting No: Deutsch, Phil Jensen, Marty, Miskimins, Mortenson, Stevens, Sue Peterson,

and Lana Greenfield

Excused: Bartels, Davis, and Soye

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 139 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Phil Jensen Second by: Miskimins

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-3-0)

Voting Yes: Deutsch, Phil Jensen, Marty, Miskimins, Mortenson, Stevens, Sue Peterson,

and Lana Greenfield

Voting No: Dennert, Healy, Keintz, and Odenbach

Excused: Bartels, Davis, and Soye

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Healy Second by: Miskimins

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Ty J. Paulsen, Committee Secretary

/s/ LANA GREENFIELD Lana Greenfield, Chair