Committee: House Committee on Appropriations Monday, February 28, 2022 9:30 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Duba, Rep. Gross, Rep. Haugaard, Rep. Mills, Rep. Mulally,

Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. May, Rep. Howard, and Rep. Karr

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Karr

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 25TH

Moved by: Gross Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 102: create the medicaid expansion fund and to provide for the receipt of monies received as a result of expanding medicaid eligibility.

Presented by: Senator Wayne Steinhauer, District 9 (Handout(s) 1. Create fund to segregate

Federal Incentive \$)

Proponents: Representative Larry Tidemann, District 7

Dean Krogman, State Medical Association SD, Sioux Falls

Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera Health, Sioux Falls

Matt Krogman, State Medical Association SD, Sioux Falls

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Huron

Jacob Parsons, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux

Falls

Opponents: Matt Flett, Bureau of Finance and Management

Lisa Nolen, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

Others: Brenda Tidball-Zeltinger, Department of Social Services

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS SB 102

Moved by: Duba

Action: Died for lack of a second

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: TO TABLE SB 102

Moved by: Gross Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Gross, Haugaard, Mills, Mulally, Fitzgerald, May, and Karr

Voting No: Duba

Excused: Howard

SB 53: authorize the Department of Corrections to purchase certain real property and contract for design of a community work center for offenders committed to the Department of Corrections, to make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Roger Chase, District 22 Proponents: Senator Casey Crabtree, District 8

Chris James Maxwell, Economic Development Professionals Association,

Mitchell

Denise Hanzlik, South Dakota Multi Housing Association, Sioux Falls

Jacob Parsons, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux

Falls

Dean Krogman, Independent Community of Bankers of South Dakota,

Watertown

Jasper Diegel, SD Manufactured Housing Association, Pierre

Eric Erickson, Lloyd Companies Inc., Sioux Falls Anna M. Hays, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Julie M Johnson, Homes For South Dakota, Sisseton

MOTION: DO PASS SB 53

Moved by: Duba

Action: Died for lack of a second

MOTION: DO NOT PASS SB 53

Moved by: Gross Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (6-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Gross, Mills, Mulally, Fitzgerald, May, and Karr

Voting No: Duba and Haugaard

Excused: Howard

SB 84: make an appropriation for the design, renovation, and construction of a multi-purpose facility at the Cottonwood Field Station and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Ryan Maher, District 28

Proponents: Representative Larry Tidemann, District 7

Kristi Cammack, South Dakota State University, Brookings (Handout(s) 2.

SDSU Cottonwood Field Station)

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Britton Blair, self, remote

Monday, February 28, 2022 9:30 AM

MOTION: TO TABLE SB 84

Moved by: Mulally Second by: Gross

Action: Failed by roll call vote (4-3-2-0)

Voting Yes: Gross, Mulally, Fitzgerald, and Karr

Voting No: Duba, Mills, and May

Excused: Haugaard and Howard

MOTION: DO PASS SB 84

Moved by: Duba

Action: Died for lack of a second

MOTION: DEFER SB 84 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Gross Second by: Mulally

Action: Failed by roll call vote (4-3-2-0)

Voting Yes: Gross, Mulally, Fitzgerald, and Karr

Voting No: Duba, Mills, and May

Excused: Haugaard and Howard

The following temporary Committee appointment was made: Rep. Gosch will replace Rep.

Karr and will act as chair.

MOTION: DO NOT PASS SB 84

Moved by: Howard Second by: Gross

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Gosch, Gross, Haugaard, Mills, Mulally, Fitzgerald, May, and Howard

Voting No: Duba

MOTION: DO NOT PASS SB 65

Moved by: Howard Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Gosch, Gross, Mills, Mulally, Fitzgerald, May, and Howard

Voting No: Duba and Haugaard

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 174 AND 55

SB 189: make an appropriation to pay increased costs incurred in the development and construction of a low-intensity residential treatment facility and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Maggie Sutton, District 10 (Handout(s) 3. Carroll Institute info and

letters of support)

Proponents: Gary Tuschen, self, Sioux Falls

Terry Dosch, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health, Pierre

Representative Greg Jamison, District 12

MOTION: DO PASS SB 189

Moved by: Duba

Action: Died for lack of a second

MOTION: TO TABLE SB 189

Moved by: May

Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (6-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Gosch, Gross, Mills, Mulally, Fitzgerald, and May

Voting No: Duba and Howard

Excused: Haugaard

SB 200: make an appropriation to the Department of Game, Fish and Parks to purchase and construct boat cleaning stations, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator V.J. Smith District 7

Proponents: Steve Charron, self, Huron (Handout(s) 4. Zebra Mussels info)

Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

Julie M Johnson, Mina Lake Association, Mina

Opponents: Tom Kirschenmann, Department of Game, Fish and Parks

MOTION: DO PASS SB 200

Moved by: Duba Second by: Fitzgerald

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 200 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Howard Second by: Gross

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Gosch, Gross, Haugaard, Mills, Mulally, May, and Howard

Voting No: Duba and Fitzgerald

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Howard Second by: May

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Leonard Chick, Committee Secretary

/s/ CHRIS KARR Chris Karr, Chair