Committee: Senate Committee on Appropriations Wednesday, March 02, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Brock Greenfield, Sen. David Johnson, Sen. Kolbeck, Sen. Maher,

Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Sutton, Sen. Wiik, Sen. Breitling, and Sen. Hunhoff

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

### The meeting was called to order by Senator Hunhoff

HB 1215: revise the deadlines for state agencies to submit annual budget requests to the Legislative Research Council.

Presented by: Representative Steven Haugaard, District 10 Opponents: Colin Keeler, Bureau of Finance and Management

**MOTION:** TO TABLE HB 1215

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Sutton, Wilk, Breitling, and

Hunhoff

Voting No: Maher and Nesiba

HB 1306: make an appropriation to rural access infrastructure funds and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Caleb Finck, District 21

Proponents: Kody R. Kyriss, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron

Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre

**MOTION: AMEND HB 1306** 

1306C

On page 1, line 4, of the House Appropriations Engrossed bill, delete "\$50,700,000," and insert "

\$25,000,000,"

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: AMEND THE PENDING AMENDMENT

1306D

On amendment (1306C),

On page 1, line 4, delete " \$25,000,000" and insert " \$15,000,000"

Moved by: Nesiba

Action: Died for lack of a second

### **Revert to previous motion**

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1306 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik,

Breitling, and Hunhoff

## HB 1166: make an appropriation for road improvements leading to the former entrance into the Palisades State Park and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Tom Pischke, District 25 Proponents: Senator Marsha Symens, District 25

Oran Sorenson, self, Garretson Jim Kurtz, self, Garretson

Opponents: Brandy Miesner, Bureau of Finance and Management Others: Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management

**MOTION: AMEND HB 1166** 

1166E

On page 1, line 4, of the House Transportation Engrossed bill, delete " \$1 to the Department of Transportation" and insert " \$665,440 and the sum of \$200,000 in other fund

expenditure authority to the Department of Game, Fish, and Parks"

On page 1, line 5, of the House Transportation Engrossed bill, delete "making" and insert

On page 1, line 5, of the House Transportation Engrossed bill, after "making" delete " improvements to"

On page 1, line 5, of the House Transportation Engrossed bill, after "to " insert "providing a grant to improve "

On page 1, after line 7, of the House Transportation Engrossed bill, insert: "

**Section 2.** For the grant provided in section 1 of this Act, the department shall require from

the grantee a matching amount of up to \$100,000 and a statement from the grantee to provide all future maintenance and repair for the project."

On page 1, line 8, of the House Transportation Engrossed bill, delete "Transportation " and insert "Game, Fish, and Parks "

Moved by: Kolbeck Second by: Nesiba

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

### MOTION: DO PASS HB 1166 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik,

Breitling, and Hunhoff

HB 1227: make an appropriation for stormwater infrastructure improvements in South Dakota and to declare an emergency.

**MOTION:** TO TABLE HB 1227

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Maher

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik,

Breitling, and Hunhoff

HB 1209: make an appropriation to the Board of Regents for improving the National Music Museum at the University of South Dakota and to declare an emergency.

**MOTION: AMEND HB 1209** 

1209B

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete " \$3,000,000" and insert " \$2,000,000"

Moved by: Breitling

Second by: Brock Greenfield Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1209 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and

Hunhoff

Voting No: Maher

HB 1281: make an appropriation for matching funds to enhance research in manufacturing processes having lunar application and planetary use in tribal housing development and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Rocky Blare, District 21

Proponents: Ross B Garelick Bell, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Pine Ridge Opponents: Hallie Getz, Bureau of Finance and Management

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1281

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik,

Breitling, and Hunhoff

# HB 1210: make an appropriation to the Board of Regents to provide grant funding for a new biomedical facility at the research park in Sioux Falls, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Kent Peterson, District 19

Proponents: Senator Casey Crabtree, District 8

James Abbate, USD Discovery District, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) USD)

Dan Englebretson, USD, Vermillion Mitchell Rave, Sanford Health, Sioux Falls

Brian Maher, Board of Regents

Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Christine Erickson, Self, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Ryan Oines, USD Discovery District, Sioux Falls

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1210

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik,

Breitling, and Hunhoff

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Wiik Second by: Maher

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Gerry Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ JEAN HUNHOFF
Jean Hunhoff, Chair