Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, March 01, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Cammack, Sen. Duvall, Sen. Frye-Mueller, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Klumb,

Sen. Herman Otten, and Sen. V. J. Smith

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Klumb

South Dakota Leopold Conservation Award - Levi and Crystal Neuharth, Prairie Paradise

Farms

Presentation by Neuharth Family

JARROD JOHNSON OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, BRANDON, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE POSITION OF INTERIM COMMISSIONER OF SCHOOL AND PUBLIC LANDS

Presented by: Ryan Brunner, Governor's Office

Proponents: Jarrod Johnson, Office of School and Public Lands

MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF

JARROD JOHNSON OF MINNEHAHA COUNTY, BRANDON, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE POSITION OF INTERIM COMMISSIONER OF SCHOOL

AND PUBLIC LANDS

Moved by: Cammack Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Klumb, and V. J. Smith

Excused: Herman Otten

HB 1162: define a loaded firearm.

Presented by: Representative Kevin Jensen, District 16 (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Senator John Wiik, District 4

Brian Gosch, National Rifle Association, Fairfax, VA

Justin Bell, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1162

Moved by: Duvall

Second by: Frye-Mueller

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Klumb, and V. J. Smith

Excused: Herman Otten

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1162 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1096: revise provisions regarding livestock identification.

Presented by: Representative Marty Overweg, District 19

Proponents: Kenny Fox, Self, Belvidere, SD

Vaughn Meyer, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Roxie Fox, self, Belvidere Brian Hanson, self, Fort Pierre Bill Kluck, self, Mud Butte

Kody R. Kyriss, South Dakota Livestock Auction Markets Association, Presho

Florence K. Thompson, South Dakota Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Opponents: Dr. Mendel Miller, Animal Industry Board

Eric Jennings, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Jeromy John Pankratz, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1096

Moved by: Frye-Mueller Second by: Heinert

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Klumb, and Herman Otten

Voting No: Duvall and V. J. Smith

HB 1325: revise the classification of agricultural land according to soil type.

Presented by: Senator Mary Duvall, District 24

Proponents: Representative Kirk Chaffee, District 29

Eric Jennings, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Angela Ehlers, self, Presho, SD

Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

Jim Terwilliger, Secretary, Department of Revenue

Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City

Opponents: Florence K. Thompson, South Dakota Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City

MOTION: AMEND HB 1325

1325C

On page 1, line 7, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, delete " map units" and insert " types"

On page 1, line 9, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, delete " map units" and insert " types"

On page 1, line 9, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, delete " as cropland except as otherwise provided in this section" and insert " by the director of equalization as either cropland or as noncropland. The director of equalization must notify the department by November 1 of each year of any changes to the categorization of the land capability class IV soil types. Beginning with the 2023 assessment year, the total acres of class IV soil types classified as noncropland in a county may increase a maximum of twenty percent over the total acres of class IV soil types classified as noncropland in the county in the previous assessment year."

On page 1, line 13, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, delete "
The director may edit and categorize individual soil map units of land capability class IV as
noncropland, by using data from a " and insert

- On page 1, line 15, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, after "a " delete "qualified entity that has been approved by the secretary of revenue, if:
- (1) The reasonable, probable use of the soil map unit that is physically practical, appropriately supported, financially feasible, and that results in the highest sustainable use of the land, is not harvesting crops or plants produced;
- (2) The amount of soil map units categorized as noncropland is not more than one hundred and twenty percent of the amount of soil map units categorized as noncropland in the previous year; and
- (3) The total sum of all crop-rated soils is greater than ninety-five percent, but less than one hundred and twenty-five percent, of the ten-year average of cropland acres in that county."
- On page 2, line 1, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, after "§ 10-6-131." delete " The secretary of revenue shall promulgate rules, pursuant to chapter 1-26, providing a process for mediation between a director of equalization and the department regarding disputes of soil classification."
- On page 2, line 5, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, delete " map units" and insert " types"
- On page 2, line 6, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, after "if" insert " one or more of the adjustment factors contained in § 10-6-131 affects the productivity of the soil type, and"
- On page 2, line 7, of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Engrossed bill, delete " map unit" and insert " type"

Moved by: Herman Otten Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1325 AS AMENDED

Moved by: V. J. Smith Second by: Cammack

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Frye-Mueller and Heinert

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: V. J. Smith Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOSHUA KLUMB

Joshua Klumb, Chair