Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, March 01, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Blare, Rep. Chase, Rep. Finck, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Ladner,

Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Marty, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Wink,

Rep. York, Rep. Hoffman, and Rep. Overweg

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 24<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Hoffman Second by: Goodwin

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 201: revise provisions regarding industrial hemp and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Caleb Finck, District 21

Proponents: Katie Sieverding, South Dakota Industrial Hemp Association, Pierre

(Handout(s) 1)

Ken Meyer, South Dakota Industrial Hemp Association, Pierre

Opponents: Derek Schiefelbein, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Jason Alan Glodt, One Chance To Grow Up, Denver, CO

MOTION: DO PASS SB 201

Moved by: Lesmeister Second by: Vasqaard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-6-0-0)

Voting Yes: Finck, Goodwin, Ladner, Lesmeister, Marty, Vasgaard, and Overweg

Voting No: Blare, Chase, Schneider, Wink, York, and Hoffman

Rep. Overweg passed the gavel to Rep. Hoffman

## SCR 602: to encourage the executive branch of this state to examine mitigation efforts to curtail the spread of aquatic invasive species.

Presented by: Representative Rebecca Reimer, District 26B (Handout(s) 2)

Proponents: Steve Charron, self, Huron

Justin G. Smith, South Dakota Visitor Industry Alliance, Pierre

Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

MOTION: DO PASS SCR 602

Moved by: Chase

Second by: York

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Goodwin, Ladner, Lesmeister, Marty, Schneider, Vasgaard,

Wink, York, and Hoffman

Excused: Finck and Overweg

Leopold Conservation presentation by Award Winners Levi and Crystal Neuharth,
Prairie Paradise Farms - Handout provided.

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Finck Second by: Vasgaard

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair