Committee: Senate Committee on Appropriations

Tuesday, March 01, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Brock Greenfield, Sen. David Johnson, Sen. Kolbeck, Sen. Maher, Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Sutton, Sen. Wiik, Sen. Breitling, and Sen. Hunhoff

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Hunhoff

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, MARCH 28TH

Moved by:	Brock Greenfield
Second by:	Wiik
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, MARCH 25TH

Moved by:	Wiik
Second by:	Brock Greenfield
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, MARCH 17TH

Moved by:	David Johnson
Second by:	Wiik
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, MARCH 24TH

Moved by: Brock Greenfield

Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1227 : make an appropriation for stormwater infrastructure improvements in South Dakota and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Kaleb Weis, District 2

Proponents: Roger Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Others: Andy Bruels, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1227

HB 1257 : establish a fund to assist counties with paying infrastructure expenditures and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Drew Dennert, District 3

Proponents: Roger Tellinghuisen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Lisa Nolen, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Derek Johnson, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: AMEND HB 1257

1257E

- On page 2, line 3, of the House Appropriations Engrossed bill, after "surface" insert the period
- On page 2, line 3, of the House Appropriations Engrossed bill, after "surface" delete ";
- (8) "County revenue allotment," five and five-tenths percent of the monthly revenue received as a result of taxes imposed in chapters 10-45 and 10-46."
- On page 2, line 8, of the House Appropriations Engrossed bill, delete "On a monthly basis, the" and insert "The"
- On page 2, line 9, of the House Appropriations Engrossed bill, delete " county revenue allotment" and insert " money appropriated under section 3 of this Act"
- On page 2, line 20, of the House Appropriations Engrossed bill, after "percent." delete "The Department of Revenue shall deposit the moneys in the fund to the county entitled thereto within thirty days of receipt after accounting for any refunds made. "
- Moved by: Brock Greenfield
- Second by: Breitling
- Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1257

- Moved by: Breitling
- Second by: Kolbeck
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff
- Voting No: Brock Greenfield and David Johnson

HB 1273 : authorize the Department of the Military to purchase certain real property in Chamberlain and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Rebecca Reimer, District 26B Proponents: LT. Colonel Martin Yost, South Dakota Army National Guard, Rapid City

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1273

Moved by: Breitling

- Second by: Wiik
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

HB 1277 : make an appropriation to the State Conservation Commission, transfer moneys thereto, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator John Wiik, District 4

Proponents: Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre (Handout(s) conservation district) Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, McCook Lake Opponents: Bill Smith, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources Lara Williams, Bureau of Finance and Management Jeff Partridge, Bureau of Finance and Management Karlton Adam, South Dakota Bankers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1277

Moved by:	Breitling
Second by:	David Johnson
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-1-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff
- Voting No: Kolbeck
- Excused: Maher

HB 1031 : make an appropriation to the Board of Technical Education to construct an advanced manufacturing laboratory space and classrooms on the campus of Lake Area Technical College and to declare an emergency.

HB 1031 : make an appropriation to the Board of Technical Education to construct an advanced manufacturing laboratory space and classrooms on the campus of Lake Area Technical College and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Nick Wendell, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre Proponents: Michael D Cartney, Lake Area Technical College, Watertown Kevin Kouba, Otter Tail Power Company, Milbank David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre Brian Sandvig, Valley Queen Cheese Factory Darryl Niven, Terex, remote Joy Nelson, self, Watertown

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1031

Moved by:	Breitling	
<u> </u>		

- Second by: Wiik
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff
- Excused: Maher and Nesiba

HB 1032 : make an appropriation to the Board of Technical Education to construct an agriculture and diesel power laboratory and multi-purpose space on the campus of Mitchell Technical College and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Mark Wilson, President, Mitchell Technical College, Mitchell Proponents: Joel Rassel, Mitchell Technical College, Mitchell Devon Russell, Mitchell Technical College, Mitchell Carol Grode- Hanks, Mitchell Technical College Nick Wendell, Board of Technical Education

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1032

Moved by:	Wiik
Second by:	Kolbeck
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-2-0)
Voting Yes:	Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Excused: Maher and Nesiba

HB 1248 : make an appropriation for the erection of the South Dakota Sioux Code Talker Memorial and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Steven Haugaard, District 10

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1248

Moved by:	Wiik
Second by:	Kolbeck
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-3-0)

Voting Yes: David Johnson, Kolbeck, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Excused: Brock Greenfield, Maher, and Nesiba

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Wiik
Second by:	Kolbeck
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Gerry Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ JEAN HUNHOFF Jean Hunhoff, Chair