Committee: Senate Local Government Friday, February 25, 2022 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bolin, Sen. Cammack, Sen. Diedrich, Sen. Foster, Sen. Frye-Mueller,

Sen. Klumb, and Sen. Herman Otten

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Herman Otten

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 23RD

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Cammack

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1155: revise the compensation for a township board member overseer.

Presented by: Representative Roger Chase, District 22

Proponents: Kody R. Kyriss, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1155

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Klumb

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Cammack, Diedrich, Foster, Frye-Mueller, Klumb, and Herman Otten

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1155 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1255: clarify certain public meeting requirements.

Presented by: Representative Steven Haugaard, District 10

Proponents: Tonchi Weaver, Self, Rapid City, SD (Handout(s) 1)

Florence K. Thompson, South Dakota Parents Involved in Education, Caputa

Anna Mars, self, Whitewood

Kenneth E. " Chuck" Jasper, Self, Rapid City, SD

Kate Thomas, self, Rapid City Cole Heisey, self, Sioux Falls Thane Badger, Self, Pierre, SD

Opponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

Craig Matson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

David Bordewyk, South Dakota Newspaper Association, Brookings Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Angela Ehlers, self, Presho, SD

Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

MOTION: DEFER HB 1255 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Klumb

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: AMEND HB 1255

1255B

On page 2, line 24, of the House Engrossed bill, after "as" delete " regular"

Moved by: Frye-Mueller

Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Diedrich, Foster, Frye-Mueller, Klumb, and Herman Otten

Voting No: Bolin and Cammack

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1255 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Frye-Mueller

Second by: Foster

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (2-5-0-0)

Voting Yes: Foster and Frye-Mueller

Voting No: Bolin, Cammack, Diedrich, Klumb, and Herman Otten

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DEFER HB 1255 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Klumb

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Cammack, Diedrich, Klumb, and Herman Otten

Voting No: Foster and Frye-Mueller

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Cammack

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ HERMAN OTTEN Herman Otten, Chair