Committee: Senate Taxation Friday, February 25, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Castleberry, Sen. Klumb, Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Herman Otten,

Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Symens, and Sen. Johns

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Johns

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 23RD

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Stalzer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1053: authorize counties to issue bonds for certain expenditures funded by a gross receipts tax.

Presented by: Senator Al Novstrup, District 3

Proponents: Representative Ernie Otten, District 6

Jim Schmidt, Lincoln County Commissioner, Sioux Falls Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, Eureka

Dean Karsky, South Dakota Assoc of County Commissioners, Sioux Falls D. Lee Gabel, self, Codington County Commissioner (Handout(s) 1) Deb Mortenson, Associated General Contractors of South Dakota, Pierre

Emily Stiegelmeier, self, Selby

Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Opponents: Keith Owen Moore, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

Jim Terwilliger, Department of Revenue

Lindsey Riter-Rapp, National Federation of Independent Business,

Indianapolis, IN

Jasper Diegel, SD Hotel & Lodging Association, Pierre Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1053

Moved by: Novstrup Second by: Herman Otten

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Novstrup, Herman Otten, Symens, and Johns

Voting No: Castleberry, Klumb, and Stalzer

HB 1120: include carbon dioxide and carbon dioxide capture companies in certain provisions regarding pipeline taxation.

Presented by: Representative Kirk Chaffee, District 29

Proponents: Justin Bell, Summit Carbon Solutions, Ames, IA (Handout(s) 2)

Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1120

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Stalzer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Klumb, Novstrup, Herman Otten, Stalzer, Symens, and Johns

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1120 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1253: provide property assessment freeze and reduction of property assessment for certain seniors, and to revise qualifications for a property tax exemption.

Presented by: Representative Kirk Chaffee, District 29
Proponents: Senator Jessica Castleberry, District 35
Opponents: Wendy Semmler, Department of Revenue

Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

MOTION: AMEND HB 1253

1253C

On page 1, line 8, of the House Engrossed bill, after "the" delete " index value"

On page 1, line 8, of the House Engrossed bill, after "value" insert " prior year assessment" On page 1, line 9, of the House Engrossed bill, delete " coverage" and insert " overage"

On page 1, line 10, of the House Engrossed bill, after "year's" insert " assessment calculated"

On page 1, line 15, of the House Engrossed bill, delete " 2015" and insert " 2022" On page 2, line 21, of the House Engrossed bill, after "hundred" delete " and fifty"

On page 3, line 8, of the House Engrossed bill, delete "fifty" and insert "sixty-seven"

On page 4, line 28, of the House Engrossed bill, delete " 2021" and insert " 2022" On page 4, line 28, of the House Engrossed bill, delete " 2021" and insert " 2022"

On page 4, line 29, of the House Engrossed bill, delete " 2021" and insert " 2022" On page 4, line 29, of the House Engrossed bill, delete " 2021" and insert " 2022"

Moved by: Herman Otten Second by: Castleberry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1253 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Novstrup Second by: Castleberry

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Klumb, and Novstrup

Voting No: Herman Otten, Stalzer, Symens, and Johns

MOTION: DEFER HB 1253 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Stalzer

Second by: Herman Otten

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Herman Otten, Stalzer, Symens, and Johns

Voting No: Castleberry, Klumb, and Novstrup

HB 1197: include certain costs as project costs for tax increment financing

districts.

Presented by: Representative Mike Derby, District 34

Proponents: John Way, self, Rapid City

Garth Wadsworth, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City (Handout(s) 4) Julie M Johnson, Aberdeen Development Corporation, Aberdeen

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1197

Moved by: Herman Otten

Second by: Klumb

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Klumb, Novstrup, Herman Otten, Stalzer, Symens, and Johns

Excused: Castleberry

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1197 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1284: increase household income thresholds for a paraplegic tax reduction.

Presented by: Representative Kirk Chaffee, District 29 Proponents: Senator Reynold Nesiba, District 15

MOTION: AMEND HB 1284

1284D

On page 1, line 13, of the House Taxation Engrossed bill, delete "18,500" and insert "18,501" On page 1, line 10, of the House Taxation Engrossed bill, delete "19,500" and insert "19,501" On page 1, line 13, of the House Taxation Engrossed bill, delete "21,000" and insert "21,001" On page 1, line 12, of the House Taxation Engrossed bill, after "18,730" insert "over " On page 2, line 1, of the House Taxation Engrossed bill, delete "14,000" and insert "14,001" On page 2, line 3, of the House Taxation Engrossed bill, delete "15,000" and insert "15,001" On page 2, line 2, of the House Taxation Engrossed bill, delete "17,000" and insert "17,001" On page 2, line 3, of the House Taxation Engrossed bill, after "14,670" insert "over "

Moved by: Herman Otten Second by: Symens

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1284 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Klumb

Second by: Novstrup

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Klumb, Novstrup, Herman Otten, Stalzer, Symens, and Johns

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1284 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Symens

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Peggy Laurenz, Committee Secretary

/s/ TIMOTHY R. JOHNS Timothy R. Johns, Chair