Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, February 24, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Blare, Rep. Chase, Rep. Finck, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Ladner,

Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Marty, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Vasqaard, Rep. Wink,

Rep. York, Rep. Hoffman, and Rep. Overweg

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 22<sup>ND</sup>

Moved by: Hoffman Second by: Vasgaard

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 135: revise provisions regarding agritourism liability.

Presented by: Representative Sydney Davis, District 17 (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Brian Pontious, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Mike Traxinger, Self, Parma, SD

Doug Abraham, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre

Justin G. Smith, South Dakota Visitor Industry Alliance, Pierre

Bailey Carlsen, Department of Tourism Mark Mueller, self, Big Stone City

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Ag Unity, Pierre

Bob Weyack, Self, Pierre, SD

Noreen Jorgeson, Self, Vermillion, SD

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 135

Moved by: Finck Second by: Lesmeister

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Goodwin, Ladner, Lesmeister, Marty, Schneider,

Vasgaard, Wink, York, Hoffman, and Overweg

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 135 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 73: provide for the use of artificial light and night-vision equipment while hunting coyotes and other predators.

Presented by: Senator Michael Rohl, District 1

Proponents: Representative Kevin Jensen, District 16

Opponents: Mike Perault, Self, Belvedere, SD

Nancy D Hilding, Prairie Hills Audubon Society of Western SD, Black Hawk

MOTION: DO PASS SB 73

Moved by: Finck Second by: Hoffman

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Goodwin, Ladner, Marty, Schneider, Vasgaard, Wink,

York, Hoffman, and Overweg

Excused: Lesmeister

SCR 605: Celebrating the South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America for its ideals and accomplishments during one hundred years of conservation leadership.

Presented by: Representative Charlie Hoffman, District 23

Proponents: Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

**MOTION:** DO PASS SCR 605

Moved by: Goodwin Second by: Ladner

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Goodwin, Ladner, Marty, Schneider, Vasgaard, Wink,

York, Hoffman, and Overweg

Excused: Lesmeister

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SCR 605 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Finck Second by: Hoffman

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair