Committee: Senate State Affairs Friday, February 25, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Duvall,

Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Diedrich, and Sen. Cammack

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 23RD

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Diedrich

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1327: reduce certain gross receipts tax rates and a use tax rate, and to repeal a conditional reduction of certain gross receipts tax rates.

Presented by: Senator Ryan Maher, District 28 Proponents: Senator David Johnson, District 33

> Senator Brock Greenfield, District 2 Representative Chris Karr, District 11 Representative Liz May, District 27

Representative Scott Odenbach, District 31 Representative Sam Marty, District 28B Representative Drew Dennert, District 3 Representative Mary Fitzgerald, District 31 Representative Tina Mulally, District 35

Tonchi Weaver, South Dakota Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City

Lisa Nolen, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

Representative Tim Goodwin, District 30 Representative Phil Jensen, District 33 Representative Bethany Soye, District 9

Opponents: Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Pierre

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Mitch Richter, United School Association of South Dakota, Madison Rob L Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Sandra Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre (Handout(s) 1)

Nathan Sanderson, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1327 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Duvall, Schoenfish, Rohl, Diedrich, and

Cammack

Voting No: Heinert

HB 1198: require display of the state motto or the state seal in public schools.

Presented by: Representative Phil Jensen, District 33 (Handout(s) 2) Proponents: Norman Woods, Family Heritage Alliance Action, Rapid City

Tonchi Weaver, South Dakota Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City

Representative Tina Mulally, District 35

Linda Schauer, Concerned Women for America, Alexandria, VA Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Representative Tim Goodwin, District 30

Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Pierre

Sandra Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1198 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schoenfish

Second by: Rohl

Opponents:

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Duvall, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

HB 1116: modify the date for the state's presidential primary elections.

Presented by: Representative Drew Dennert, District 3 (Handout(s) 3) Opponents: Kathy Glines, Harding County Auditor, self, Buffalo

Jackie Sienerding, self, Elk Point

Susan Lamb, Sully County Auditor, Onida

Phyllis Barker, Douglas County Auditor, self, Armour Jill Hanson, Beadle County Auditor, self, Huron

Philena Burtch, Stanley County Auditor, self, Fort Pierre Brenda McGruder, Lawrence County Auditor, self, Lead Lindley Howard, McPherson County Auditor, self, Leola Cathy McNickle, Brown County Auditor, Self, Aberdeen, SD

MOTION: DEFER HB 1116 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schoenbeck Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Duvall, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

HB 1206: establish fees for information provided from the statewide voter

registration file.

Presented by: Representative Drew Dennert, District 3

MOTION: DEFER HB 1206 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Schoenbeck

Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Duvall, Schoenfish, Heinert, Diedrich, and

Cammack

Voting No: Rohl

HB 1319: prohibit contributions from federal campaign committees.

Presented by: Representative Drew Dennert, District 3

MOTION: DEFER HB 1319 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Schoenfish

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Duvall, Schoenfish, Rohl, Heinert, Diedrich,

and Cammack

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Rohl Second by: Diedrich

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lorna Shell, Committee Secretary

_______/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK Gary L. Cammack, Chair