Committee: House Judiciary Wednesday, February 23, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Aylward, Rep. Barthel, Rep. Cwach, Rep. Odenbach, Rep. Sue Peterson,

Rep. Pischke, Rep. Pourier, Rep. Rehfeldt, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Soye, Rep. St.

John, Rep. Stevens, and Rep. Hansen

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Hansen

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 16TH

Moved by: Odenbach Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 1: codify legislation enacted in 2021.

Presented by: John McCullough, Code Counsel, Legislative Research Council

MOTION: DO PASS SB 1

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Reimer

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Barthel, Cwach, Odenbach, Pischke, Pourier, Rehfeldt, Reimer, Soye,

St. John, Stevens, and Hansen

Excused: Sue Peterson

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 1 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 2 : publish voter-approved initiated constitutional amendments and initiated measures in the session laws.

Presented by: John McCullough, Code Counsel, Legislative Research Council

MOTION: DO PASS SB 2

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Rehfeldt

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Barthel, Cwach, Odenbach, Pischke, Pourier, Rehfeldt, Reimer, Soye,

St. John, Stevens, and Hansen

Excused: Sue Peterson

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 2 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 15: revise provisions providing that certain professions are not subject to discipline for certain conduct relating to medical cannabis.

Presented by: Senator Jim Stalzer, District 11

Proponents: Ned Horsted, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls

DO PASS SB 15 MOTION:

Moved by: Stevens Second by: Odenbach

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Aylward, Barthel, Cwach, Odenbach, Sue Peterson, Pischke, Pourier, Rehfeldt, Voting Yes:

Reimer, Soye, St. John, Stevens, and Hansen

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 15 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 16: repeal provisions related to the prosecution, search, seizure, penalty, or discipline of medical cannabis establishments for certain conduct.

Presented by: Representative Rhonda Milstead, District 9

Proponents: Ryan Dean Flogstad, City of Sioux Falls, Sioux Falls

Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, Eureka

Grant M. Flynn, South Dakota State's Attorneys Association, Pierre

Opponents: Terra Larson, SD Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Pierre

Kittrick Jeffries, Dakota Cannabis Consulting, Rapid City

Ned Horsted, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls

Emmett Reistroffer, Genesis Farms LLC, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS SB 16

Sue Peterson Moved by: Barthel

Second by:

Failed by roll call vote (6-7-0-0) Action:

Voting Yes: Barthel, Sue Peterson, Reimer, Soye, Stevens, and Hansen

Voting No: Aylward, Cwach, Odenbach, Pischke, Pourier, Rehfeldt, and St. John

DEFER SB 16 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY MOTION:

Moved by: Pischke Second by: Avlward

Prevailed by roll call vote (7-5-1-0) Action:

Voting Yes: Aylward, Cwach, Odenbach, Pischke, Pourier, Rehfeldt, and Reimer

Voting No: Barthel, Sue Peterson, Soye, Stevens, and Hansen Excused: St. John

SB 20 : revise the medical purpose defense related to the medical use of cannabis.

Presented by: Representative Rhonda Milstead, District 9

Proponents: Grant M. Flynn, South Dakota State's Attorneys Association, Pierre
Opponents: Terra Larson, SD Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Pierre

Emmett Reistroffer, Genesis Farms LLC, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) 1, 2)

Ned Horsted, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls

Liz Tiger, self, Spearfish

Patrick Lynch, Self, Sioux Falls

Others: Paul Bachand, South Dakota States Attorneys Association, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 20

Moved by: Barthel Second by: Soye

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 20 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Pischke Second by: Aylward

Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (8-5-0-0)

Voting Yes: Aylward, Cwach, Odenbach, Pischke, Pourier, Rehfeldt, Reimer, and St. John

Voting No: Barthel, Sue Peterson, Soye, Stevens, and Hansen

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Odenbach Second by: Aylward

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Gail Tennant, Committee Secretary

/s/ JON HANSEN Jon Hansen, Chair