Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, February 17, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present:	Rep. Chase, Rep. Finck, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Marty,
	Rep. Schneider, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Wink, Rep. York, Rep. Hoffman, and
	Rep. Overweg
Excused:	Rep. Blare and Rep. Ladner

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 15TH

Moved by:	Chase
Second by:	Vasgaard
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Rep. Overweg passed the gavel to Rep. Hoffman

HB 1096 : revise provisions regarding livestock identification.

Presented by: Representative Marty Overweg, District 19

Proponents:	Kenny Fox, Self , Belvidere, SD
	Les Shaw, Self, White Owl, SD
	Roxi Fox, Self, Belvidere, SD
	Bret Kenzy, Self, Gregory, SD
	Brian Hanson. Self, Ft. Pierre, SD
	Kody R. Kyriss, South Dakota Livestock Auction Markets Association, Presho
	Jeremiah M. Murphy, South Dakota Stockgrowers Association, Rapid City
	Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings
	Mitch Richter, South Dakota Farmers Union, Rapid City
Opponents:	Dr. Mendel Miller, Animal Industry Board
	Eric Jennings, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre
	Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron
	Brenda Forman, South Dakota Dairy Producers, Brookings
	Brenda Forman, South Dakota Pork Producers, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1096

Moved by:	Wink
Second by:	Marty
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-3-2-0)

- Voting Yes: Finck, Goodwin, Lesmeister, Marty, Wink, York, Hoffman, and Overweg
- Voting No: Chase, Schneider, and Vasgaard
- Excused: Blare and Ladner

HB 1296 : provide for the killing of mountain lions under certain circumstances.

Presented by: Representative Marty Overweg, District 19

Proponents: Justin Bell, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre

Opponents: Tom Kirschenmann, Department of Game, Fish and Parks Nancy D Hilding, Prairie Hills Audubon Society of Western SD, Black Hawk Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, McCook Lake John Hauge, Self, Deadwood, SD Julie Anderson, Self, Rapid City, SD

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1296

Moved by:FinckSecond by:MartyAction:Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1296 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Goodwin
- Second by: Vasgaard
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-4-2-0)
- Voting Yes: Chase, Goodwin, Lesmeister, Schneider, Vasgaard, York, and Hoffman
- Voting No: Finck, Marty, Wink, and Overweg
- Excused: Blare and Ladner

Gavel wss passed back to Rep. Overweg

SB 184 : provide for limited elk licenses to landowners.

Presented by: Representative Tim Goodwin, District 30

Proponents: Jeromy John Pankratz, Landowners and Hunters Association for South Dakota, Cypress

Doug Abraham, South Dakota Landowner and Outfitter Alliance, Pierre Opponents: Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

MOTION: AMEND SB 184

- On page 1, line 1, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "to" delete " resident"
- On page 1, line 5, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "of" delete " resident"
- On page 1, line 8, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "a" delete " resident"
- On page 1, line 10, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "the" delete " resident"
- On page 1, line 11, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "season." insert " For the purposes of this section, the term, landowner-on-own-land, means any resident landowner; and any nonresident who owns land prior to July 1, 2022. "

On page 1, line 13, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "section." insert " Any license issued pursuant to this section is not transferable." Moved by: Finck Second by: Hoffman Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: AMEND SB 184

On page 1, line 6, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "of " insert "one antlerless " On page 1, line 9, of the Senate Engrossed bill, after "of " insert "one antlerless " Moved by: Overweg Second by: Hoffman Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (5-6-2-0) Voting Yes: Goodwin, Lesmeister, Marty, Hoffman, and Overweg

Voting No: Chase, Finck, Schneider, Vasgaard, Wink, and York

Excused: Blare and Ladner

MOTION: DO PASS SB 184 AS AMENDED

Moved by:	Finck
Second by:	Goodwin
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Chase, Finck, Goodwin, Lesmeister, Marty, Schneider, Vasgaard, Wink, York, Hoffman, and Overweg

Excused: Blare and Ladner

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Hoffman
Second by:	Lesmeister
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair