Committee: Senate Committee on Appropriations Tuesday, February 22, 2022 7:30 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Brock Greenfield, Sen. David Johnson, Sen. Kolbeck, Sen. Maher,

Sen. Nesiba, Sen. Sutton, Sen. Wiik, Sen. Breitling, and Sen. Hunhoff

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Hunhoff

SB 32: authorize the Department of Corrections to purchase certain real property, construct a community work center for offenders committed to the Department of Corrections, to make an appropriation therefor, transfer funds from the budget reserve fund, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Doug Clark, Department of Corrections Others: Kevin McLain, Department of Corrections

MOTION: AMEND SB 32

32A

On page 1, line 16, of the Introduced bill, delete "\$28,012,008" and insert "\$38,308,804"

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: AMEND THE PENDING AMENDMENT

32B

On the previously adopted amendment (32A), On page 2, line 3, delete "\$28,012,008" and insert "\$38,308,804"

Moved by: Brock Greenfield

Second by: Nesiba

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 32 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and

Hunhoff

Voting No: Maher and Nesiba

## SB 33: authorize the Department of Corrections to make healthcare improvements at the South Dakota Women's Prison, to make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Proponents: Brittni Skipper, Department of Corrections

Joan Adam, Department of Health

Jennie Englund, Department of Social Services
Others: Darren Borg, Department of Corrections, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 33

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Excused: Brock Greenfield

SB 44: authorize the Board of Regents to contract for the demolition of Briscoe Hall and the existing Lincoln Hall, and the design and construction of the new Lincoln Hall, at Northern State University, to make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Brian Maher, Board of Regents (Handout(s) Lincoln Hall Project)

Proponents: Neul Schnoor, President, Northern State University

Barry Dunn, President, South Dakota State University, Brookings

Jim Thares, Board of Regents

Jacob Parsons, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux

Falls

Deb Fischer-Clemens, Avera Health, Sioux Falls

Senator Casey Crabtree, District 8 Senator Al Novstrup, District 3 Mike Boekory, Aberdeen

Matt McCaulk, Sanford

Others: Heather Forney, Board of Regents

Mary Anne Krogh, South Dakota State University- College of Nursing,

Brookings

MOTION: DO PASS SB 44

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and

Hunhoff

Voting No: Maher

## SB 84: make an appropriation for the design, renovation, and construction of a multi-purpose facility at the Cottonwood Field Station and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Ryan Maher, District 28 (Handout(s) sdsu) Proponents: Kristi Cammack, South Dakota State University

Senator V.J. Smith District 7

Barry Dunn, President, South Dakota State University, Brookings Brenda Forman, South Dakota Cattlemen's Association, Pierre Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre Matthew M Boque, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Others: Heather Forney, Board of Regents

MOTION: DO PASS SB 84

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Maher, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Voting No: Kolbeck and Nesiba

SB 97: authorize the Board of Regents to acquire the incubator building located on the campus of South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, to contract for the design and renovation thereof, to make an appropriation therefor, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator V.J. Smith District 7

Proponents: Jim Rankin, South Dakota School of Mines, Rapid City

Jacob B. West, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City

Nathan Lukkes, Board of Regents Senator Helene Duhamel, District 32

John Keller, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City

Senator Michael Diedrich, District 34 Annaliese Wolman, self, Rapid City

Grant Crawford, South Dakota School of Mines, Rapid City

Opponents: Hallie Getz, Bureau of Finance and Management

Terry Kuca, self, Rapid City

Anthony Mirzayants, self, Rapid City

Liam Slavin, self, Rapid City Kyle Benjamin, self, Rapid City Samuel Elliot, Self, Rapid City

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 97

Moved by: Nesiba

Second by: David Johnson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: David Johnson, Kolbeck, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Voting No: Brock Greenfield and Maher

SB 200: make an appropriation to the Department of Game, Fish and Parks to purchase and construct boat cleaning stations, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator V.J. Smith District 7 Proponents: Steve Charron, self, Huron

Julie M Johnson, Mina Lake Association, Mina

Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

Opponents: Chris Petersen, Department of Game, Fish and Parks
Others: Tom Kirschenmann, Department of Game, Fish and Parks

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 200

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and

Hunhoff

Voting No: Kolbeck

SB 110: transfer funds to the South Dakota postsecondary scholarship grant fund for the South Dakota need-based grant program and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba, District 15

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 110

Moved by: Nesiba

Second by: David Johnson Action: Was not acted on.

**MOTION:** SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 110 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Brock Greenfield

Second by: Breitling

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, Kolbeck, Maher, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Voting No: David Johnson and Nesiba

SB 114: provide a refund for the contractor's excise tax for certain residential housing projects.

Presented by: Senator Herman Otten, District 6

Proponents: Representative Roger Chase, District 22

Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Home Builders Association, Pierre

Anna Hays, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Opponents: Hallie Getz, Bureau of Finance and Management

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 114 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-4-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, Sutton, Wilk, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Voting No: David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, and Nesiba

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Sutton

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Gerry Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ JEAN HUNHOFF Jean Hunhoff, Chair