Committee: Senate Committee on Appropriations Thursday, February 17, 2022 10:30 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Brock Greenfield, Sen. David Johnson, Sen. Kolbeck, Sen. Nesiba,

Sen. Sutton, Sen. Wiik, Sen. Breitling, and Sen. Hunhoff

Excused: Sen. Maher

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Senator Hunhoff

## SB 55: appropriate funds for the expansion of broadband infrastructure and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Mike Waldner, Governor's Office of Economic Development

Proponents: Darla Pollman Rogers, South Dakota Telecommunications Association, Pierre

Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Jacob Parsons, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux

Falls

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 55

Moved by: Wiik Second by: Kolbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and

Hunhoff

Excused: Maher

## SB 175: make an appropriation to the Department of Game, Fish and Parks for building a shooting range in western South Dakota and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator David Johnson, District 33

Proponents: Kevin Robling, Department of Game, Fish and Parks (Handout(s) Game fish

and parks -2) Brian Gosch, self

Opponents: Tyler Woods, self, Sturgis

Matt Kammerer, Self,Rapid City Rod Putman, self, Piedmont

Representative Dean Wink, District 29

Nancy D Hilding, Prairie Hills Audubon Society of Western SD, Black Hawk

Others: John Kanta, Department of Game, Fish and Parks

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 175

Moved by: Wiik

Second by: David Johnson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-2-0-0)

Thursday, February 17, 2022 10:30 AM

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and

Hunhoff

Voting No: Maher and Nesiba

SB 189: make an appropriation to pay increased costs incurred in the development and construction of a low-intensity residential treatment facility and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Maggie Sutton, District 10 Proponents: Senator Jack Kolbeck, District 13

Terry Dosch, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health, Pierre

Gary Tuschen, Carroll Institute

**MOTION: AMEND SB 189** 

189A

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, delete "\$5,000,000" and insert "\$1"

Moved by: Brock Greenfield

Second by: Wiik

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 189 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Wiik Second by: Nesiba

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, Kolbeck, Maher, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, and

Hunhoff

Excused: Breitling

SB 192: increase the South Dakota Opportunity Scholarship award.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba, District 15 Proponents: Brian Maher, Board of Regents

Grace Beck, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, Pierre

Opponents: Hallie Getz, Bureau of Finance and Management

Others: Heather Forney, Board of Regents

Tiffany Sanderson, Department of Education

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 192

Moved by: Nesiba Second by: Maher

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER SB 192 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE

Moved by: Wiik

Second by: Brock Greenfield

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Brock Greenfield, Kolbeck, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Voting No: David Johnson, Maher, and Nesiba

SB 194: make an appropriation to the Department of Education to provide grants to organizations that provide early education programs.

Presented by: Senator Ryan Maher, District 28

Proponents: Beth Plewa, Waterford Upstart, Salt Lake City, UT

Elizabeth Ostler, self, Rapid City Al Novstrup, self, Watertown

Jason Alan Glodt, Waterford Research Institute, Taylorsville, UT

Opponents: Tiffany Sanderson, Department of Education

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 194 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Breitling Second by: Nesiba

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Kolbeck, Nesiba, Sutton, Wiik, Breitling, and Hunhoff

Voting No: Brock Greenfield, David Johnson, and Maher

**MOTION:** AMEND

NO DOCUMENT EXISTS: "

Gerry Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ JEAN HUNHOFF Jean Hunhoff, Chair