Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Tuesday, February 15, 2022 10:00 AM

### Roll Call

Present: Sen. Cammack, Sen. Duvall, Sen. Frye-Mueller, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Klumb, Sen. Herman Otten, and Sen. V. J. Smith

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

#### The meeting was called to order by Senator Klumb

#### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 10<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by:V. J. SmithSecond by:DuvallAction:Prevailed by voice vote

## JONATHAN E. LOCKEN OF BROWN COUNTY, BATH, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GAME, FISH AND PARKS COMMISSION

Presented by: Kevin Robling, Department of Game, Fish and Parks

#### MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE REAPPOINTMENT OF JONATHAN E. LOCKEN OF BROWN COUNTY, BATH, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GAME, FISH AND PARKS COMMISSION

- Second by: Frye-Mueller
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

## STEPHANIE RISSLER OF CLAY COUNTY, VERMILLION, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GAME, FISH AND PARKS COMMISSION

Presented by: Kevin Robling, Department of Game, Fish and Parks Proponents: Stephanie Rissler, self, Vermillion

#### MOTION: THAT THE SENATE ADVISE AND CONSENT TO THE APPOINTMENT OF STEPHANIE RISSLER OF CLAY COUNTY, VERMILLION, SOUTH DAKOTA, TO THE GAME, FISH AND PARKS COMMISSION

Moved by: Duvall

Second by: Heinert

- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

## SCR 602 : To provide for an interim study to examine mitigation efforts to curtail the spread of aquatic invasive species.

Presented by: Steve Charron, self, Huron (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Justin G. Smith, South Dakota Visitor Industry Alliance, Pierre Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, McCook Lake Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems, Madison Senator Michael Rohl, District 1 Julie M Johnson, Mina Lake Association, Mina Julie M Johnson, WEB Water, Aberdeen Jay Phillip Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District, Brookings

#### MOTION: DO PASS SCR 602

Moved	bv:	Heinert

- Second by: Frye-Mueller
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Cammack, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith
- Voting No: Duvall

## SB 200 : make an appropriation to the Department of Game, Fish and Parks to purchase and construct boat cleaning stations, and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator V.J. Smith District 7

Proponents: Julie M Johnson, Mina Lake Association, Mina Julie M Johnson, WEB Water, Aberdeen Justin G. Smith, South Dakota Visitor Industry Alliance, Pierre Jay Phillip Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District, Brookings Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, McCook Lake Steve Charron, self, Huron
Opponents: Tom Kirschenmann, Department of Game, Fish and Parks

#### MOTION: REFER SB 200 TO SENATE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

- Moved by: Heinert
- Second by: Herman Otten
- Action: Prevailed by roll call vote (6-1-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Duvall, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Cammack

# SB 181 : require the Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources to assemble a task force to study the adoption of a watershed ecosystems management approach.

Presented by: Senator Red Dawn Foster, District 27 (Handout(s) 2)

Proponents: Tamara Stands and Looks Back, self, Rosebud Lilias Jarding, self, Rapid City Chase Iron Eyes, self, Lakota Nation, Pine Ridge Madonna Thunderhawk, self, Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe, Cheyenne River Reservation Chief John Spotted Tail, Sicangu Lakota, Rosebud Janet Alkire, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Standing Rock Reservation Doug Crow Ghost, Great Plains Tribal Water Alliance, Standing Rock Reservation Ross B Garelick Bell, NDN Collective, Rapid City Ross B Garelick Bell, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Pine Ridge Ross B Garelick Bell, Yankton Sioux Tribe, Wagner Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America, McCook Lake Monique Mouss, Uniting Resilience, Rapid City Jeanne Goodman, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources **Opponents:** Michael Held, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Jay Phillip Gilbertson, East Dakota Water Development District, Brookings

#### MOTION: AMEND SB 181

181A

On page 2, line 18, of the Introduced bill, after "use;

## (5)" delete "The management of each watershed using an ecosystems approach to maximize the quantity and quality of surface and underground water resources for current and future use;"

- On page 2, line 21, of the Introduced bill, after "use;" delete "(6)"
- On page 2, line 24, of the Introduced bill, delete "(7)" and insert "(6)"
- On page 2, line 27, of the Introduced bill, delete "(8)" and insert "(7)"
- Moved by: Duvall
- Second by: Herman Otten
- Action: Prevailed by voice vote

#### **MOTION:** DEFER SB 181 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Cammack
- Second by: Duvall
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Frye-Mueller, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith
- Voting No: Heinert

#### MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	V. J. Smith
Second by:	Heinert
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ JOSHUA KLUMB Joshua Klumb, Chair