Committee: House Local Government Tuesday, February 15, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Barthel, Rep. Cwach, Rep. Drury, Rep. Lana Greenfield, Rep. Hoffman,

Rep. Chris Johnson, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Olson, Rep. Reed, Rep. Thomason,

Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Jamison, and Rep. York

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative York

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 10<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Hoffman Second by: Reed

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1317: enhance the Battleship South Dakota Memorial.

Presented by: Representative Mark Willadsen, District 11

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1317

Moved by: Lana Greenfield Second by: Weisgram

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1291: classify 911 telecommunicators as Class B members of the South Dakota Retirement System.

Presented by: Representative Rhonda Milstead, District 9

Proponents: Kooper Caraway, South Dakota Federation of Labor, Sioux Falls

Matt Tooley, Metro Communciations Agency, Sioux Falls

Steven McMillin, self, Custer Jeff Luther, self, Sioux Falls Lenora Giles, self, Sioux Falls Logan Roehr, Self, Britton Marlene Haines, self, Mitchell

Vicki Greenwood, self, Belle Fourche

Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, Eureka

Aimee Woodell, self, Sioux Falls Thomas Reese, self, Rapid City

Opponents: James Johns, South Dakota Retirement System

Matt Clark, South Dakota Investment Council Jim Terwilliger, Secretary, Department of Revenue

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: AMEND HB 1291

1291A

On page 3, line 2, of the Introduced bill, delete " county" and insert " governing body"

Moved by: Reed Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

**MOTION:** DEFER HB 1291 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Chris Johnson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Drury, Chris Johnson, Mortenson, Olson, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram,

Jamison, and York

Voting No: Barthel, Cwach, and Lana Greenfield

Excused: Hoffman

## HB 1313: expand the definition of community safety zone in relation to the sex offender registry.

Presented by: Representative Paul Miskimins, District 20

Proponents: Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, Eureka

Opponents: Justin Bell, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid City

MOTION: AMEND HB 1313

1313A

On page 1, line 8, of the Introduced bill, after "pool," insert " or"

On page 2, line 21, of the Introduced bill, delete "No new facility providing day care services pursuant

to chapter 26-6 or § 13-8-39. 2 may be established within five hundred feet of a residence of a person required to register as a sex offender pursuant to this chapter, according to information maintained by the Division of Criminal Investigation, if the person established and inhabited the residence prior to July 1, 2022." and insert "

No person who is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to this chapter may establish a

residence or reside within five hundred feet of a facility providing day care services pursuant to chapter 26-6 or § 13-8-39.2, unless the person established and inhabited the residence prior to July 1, 2022. The facility shall provide notice of the offender's

residence to the parents or quardians of any child attending the facility."

Moved by: Drury Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

## MOTION: DEFER HB 1313 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Chris Johnson Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Mortenson,

Olson, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

HB 1155: revise the compensation for a township board member overseer.

Presented by: Representative Roger Chase, District 22

Proponents: Kody R. Kyriss, South Dakota Association of Towns and Townships, Huron

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1155

Moved by: Olson Second by: Jamison

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Mortenson,

Olson, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1155 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT

CALENDAR.

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Reed Second by: Jamison

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ NANCY YORK Nancy York, Chair