Committee: House State Affairs Monday, February 07, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Anderson, Rep. Beal, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Gosch,

Rep. Hansen, Rep. Kevin Jensen, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Reimer, Rep. Jamie

Smith, Rep. Wiese, Rep. Chris Johnson, and Rep. Kent Peterson

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Kent Peterson

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 04TH

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1196: designate the Dakota flute as the official indigenous musical instrument of South Dakota.

motiument of bouth buretar

Presented by: Representative Tamara St. John, District 1 (Handout(s) #1)

Proponents: David Flute, Department of Tribal Relations Opponents: Representative Shawn Bordeaux, District 26A

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1196

Moved by: Gosch

Second by: Kevin Jensen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister,

Reimer, Jamie Smith, Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

HB 1263: require an annual meeting with the congressional delegation.

Presented by: Representative Phil Jensen, District 33

MOTION: DEFER HB 1263 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister,

Reimer, Jamie Smith, Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

HB 1319: prohibit contributions from federal campaign committees.

Presented by: Representative Drew Dennert, District 3 (Handout(s) #2)

MOTION: AMEND HB 1319

1319B

On page 1, after line 18, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 2. That § 12-27-8 be AMENDED:

12-27-8. A legislative or county candidate or the candidate's campaign committee may accept contributions during any calendar year as follows:

- (1) Not to exceed one thousand dollars from a person, unless the person is the candidate or a member of the candidate's immediate family, in which case contributions may be made without limit;
- (2) Not to exceed one thousand dollars from an entity;
- (3) Without limit from a political action committee;
- (4) Without limit from a political party; and
- (5) Without limit from a candidate campaign committee.

Any contribution from a federal candidate campaign committee is prohibited. Any

contribution from a ballot question committee is prohibited. Any contribution from a person who is an unemancipated minor shall be deducted from the total contribution permitted under this section by the unemancipated minor's custodial parent or parents. A violation of this section is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A subsequent offense within a calendar year is a Class 1

misdemeanor."

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1319 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Beal, Chaffee, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister, Reimer, Jamie

Smith, Wiese, and Chris Johnson

Voting No: Anderson, Goodwin, and Kent Peterson

HB 1297: revise the authorization for a tribal flag display in the rotunda of the capitol building.

Presented by: Representative Shawn Bordeaux, District 26A

Proponents: Ross B Garelick Bell, CCST - Crow Creek Sioux Tribe, Fort Thompson

MOTION: DEFER HB 1297 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1297

Moved by: Lesmeister

Second by: Jamie Smith

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (4-9-0-0)

Voting Yes: Lesmeister, Reimer, Jamie Smith, and Chris Johnson

Voting No: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Wiese, and

Kent Peterson

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DEFER HB 1297 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Reimer,

Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

Voting No: Lesmeister and Jamie Smith

HB 1274: establish the Commission on Truth and Reconciliation.

Presented by: Representative Shawn Bordeaux, District 26A

Proponents: Ross B Garelick Bell, CCST - Crow Creek Sioux Tribe, Fort Thompson

Ross B Garelick Bell, Yankton Sioux Tribe, Wagner Ross B Garelick Bell, NDN Collective, Rapid City David Flute, Department of Tribal Relations

MOTION: DEFER HB 1274 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Kevin Jensen

Second by: Gosch

Opponents:

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Reimer,

Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

Voting No: Lesmeister and Jamie Smith

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1141

HB 1142: exempt members of Indian tribes from admission fees, camping permit fees, and park service fees of state parks.

Presented by: Representative Shawn Bordeaux, District 26A

Proponents: Carla Marshall, Self, Rapid City

Ross B Garelick Bell, CCST - Crow Creek Sioux Tribe, Fort Thompson

Ross B Garelick Bell, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Pine Ridge Ross B Garelick Bell, Yankton Sioux Tribe, Wagner Ross B Garelick Bell, NDN Collective, Rapid City

Opponents: Scott Simpson, Department of Game, Fish and Parks

MOTION: AMEND HB 1142

1142A

On page 1, line 2, of the Introduced bill, after "parks" insert " and hunting and fishing license fees" On page 1, after line 7, of the Introduced bill, insert: "

Section 2. That chapter 41-6 be amended with a NEW SECTION:

A person who is an enrolled member of a federally recognized Indian tribe located wholly or partially in the state, is exempt from paying any fee regarding the application for,

and obtainment of, a license, permit, or stamp classified in § 41-6-10."

Moved by: Jamie Smith Second by: Lesmeister

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DEFER HB 1142 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Reimer,

Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

Voting No: Lesmeister and Jamie Smith

HB 1150: prohibit the use of cyanide for the purpose of mining for gold and

silver.

Presented by: Representative Shawn Bordeaux, District 26A

Proponents: Lilias Jarding, Self, Rapid City

Rebecca M. Terk, Rapid Creek Watershed Action, Rapid City

Chase Jensen, Dakota Rural Action, Brookings

Nancy D Hilding, Prairie Hills Audubon Society of Western SD, Black Hawk

Carla Marshall, Self, Rapid City

Opponents: Larry Mann, South Dakota Mineral Industries Association, Rapid City

MOTION: DEFER HB 1150 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Goodwin Second by: Kevin Jensen

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-2-0-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Reimer,

Wiese, Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

Voting No: Lesmeister and Jamie Smith

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Hansen Second by: Chaffee

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

House State Affairs	Monday, February 07, 2022 7:45 AM
Pam Kean, Committee Secretary	
	/s/ KENT PETERSON Kent Peterson, Chair