Committee: House Local Government Tuesday, February 08, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Barthel, Rep. Cwach, Rep. Drury, Rep. Lana Greenfield, Rep. Hoffman,

Rep. Chris Johnson, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Olson, Rep. Reed, Rep. Thomason,

Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Jamison, and Rep. York

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative York

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 08TH

Moved by: Lana Greenfield

Second by: Reed

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1111: provide for the referral of certain resolutions adopted by the board of a school district.

Presented by: Representative Aaron Aylward, District 6 Proponents: Senator Marsha Symens, District 25

> Jessica Sechser, self, Sioux Falls Lance Holt, self, Sioux Falls Chuck Jasper, self, Rapid City

Opponents: Wade Pogany, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre

Rob Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Mitch Richter, United School Association of South Dakota, Madison

Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Pierre Sam Nelson, Sioux Falls School District, Canton

MOTION: AMEND HB 1111

1111A

On page 1, line 16, of the Introduced bill, after "to" delete " five" On page 1, line 16, of the Introduced bill, after "five " insert "ten "

Moved by: Jamison Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1111

Moved by: Chris Johnson Second by: Hoffman

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1111 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE

DAY

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Lana Greenfield Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Mortenson, Olson, Reed, Thomason,

Weisgram, and Jamison

Voting No: Hoffman, Chris Johnson, and York

HB 1275: clarify signature requirements on petitions regarding the change of form of government in municipalities.

Presented by: Representative Mike Weisgram, District 24

Proponents: Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: AMEND HB 1275

1275A

On page 1, line 13, of the Introduced bill, after "No " delete "signature on the "

Moved by: Olson Second by: Reed

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1275 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Drury Second by: Barthel

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Drury, Hoffman, Mortenson, Olson, Reed, Thomason, Weisgram,

Jamison, and York

Voting No: Cwach, Lana Greenfield, and Chris Johnson

HB 1255: clarify certain public meeting requirements.

Presented by: Representative Steven Haugaard, District 10

Proponents: Tonchi Weaver, South Dakota Citizens for Liberty, Rapid City

Elaine Simons, self, Wall Chuck Jasper, self, Rapid City Cole Heisey, Self, Sioux Falls Anna Mars, Self, Whitewood

Opponents: Sam Nelson, South Dakota Municipal League

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1255

Moved by: Hoffman Second by: Chris Johnson

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

Voting No: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Mortenson, Olson, Reed, and Thomason

MOTION: DEFER HB 1255 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Mortenson, Olson, Reed,

Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

Voting No: Chris Johnson

HB 1286: permit municipalities to contribute more to the cost of insurance provided to certain officers or retired employees.

Presented by: Representative Becky Drury, District 32

Proponents: Kooper Caraway, South Dakota Federation of Labor, Sioux Falls

Sean Jewett, self, Rapid City Ryan Marcks, self, Rapid City Brian Pitts, self, Rapid City Brian Burge, self, Beresford

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1286

Moved by: Lana Greenfield

Second by: Hoffman

Opponents:

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Hoffman, Mortenson, Olson, Reed,

Thomason, Weisgram, Jamison, and York

Voting No: Chris Johnson

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Reed Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ NANCY YORK Nancy York, Chair