SOUTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH COUNCIL

2022 South Dakota Legislature

FISCAL NOTE 2022-FN1257A

HB 1257, An Act to establish a fund to assist counties with paying infrastructure expenditures.

The bill would establish county capital improvement funds to assist counties with meeting expenditures for the purpose of repairing or improving roads, or acquiring, constructing, renovating, or replacing a building or structure described in SDCL 7-25-1 and 7-25-3, or a facility designed to reduce jail incarceration. The Department of Revenue, on a monthly basis, would deposit 5.5% of the revenue collected from sales and use taxes into the counties' capital improvement funds.

For FY2023, the bill would reduce revenues to the State General Fund by an estimated \$69,072,002. The amount of funds available to counties for the purposes stated in the bill would by \$69,072,002. The following table estimates the county distribution pursuant to the bill.

County	Amount	County	Amount	County	Amount
AURORA	\$ 596,183	FAULK	\$ 598,000	MELLETTE	\$ 465,916
BEADLE	\$ 1,741,661	GRANT	\$1,256,492	MINER	\$ 469,112
BENNETT	\$ 400,083	GREGORY	\$ 930,499	MINNEHAHA	\$5,896,654
BON HOMME	\$ 1,322,514	HAAKON	\$1,038,056	MOODY	\$ 826,603
BROOKINGS	\$ 2,167,077	HAMLIN	\$ 648,090	OGLALA LAKOTA	\$ 948,947
BROWN	\$ 2,562,634	HAND	\$ 752,107	PENNINGTON	\$3,702,241
BRULE	\$ 668,738	HANSON	\$ 569,658	PERKINS	\$1,170,368
BUFFALO	\$ 265,944	HARDING	\$ 689,349	POTTER	\$ 675,995
BUTTE	\$ 1,486,712	HUGHES	\$1,181,482	ROBERTS	\$ 980,097
CAMPBELL	\$ 592,403	HUTCHINSON	\$1,183,809	SANBORN	\$ 628,707
CHARLES MIX	\$ 1,077,090	HYDE	\$ 531,564	SPINK	\$1,774,996
CLARK	\$ 506,115	JACKSON	\$ 659,485	STANLEY	\$ 678,163
CLAY	\$ 1,102,994	JERAULD	\$ 402,218	SULLY	\$ 753,966
CODINGTON	\$ 1,273,595	JONES	\$ 397,577	TODD	\$ 598,243
CORSON	\$ 861,426	KINGSBURY	\$ 441,749	TRIPP	\$1,115,960
CUSTER	\$ 708,598	LAKE	\$ 639,950	TURNER	\$1,143,831
DAVISON	\$ 1,219,640	LAWRENCE	\$1,227,747	UNION	\$1,232,030
DAY	\$ 957,441	LINCOLN	\$2,443,701	WALWORTH	\$ 712,352
DEUEL	\$ 438,471	LYMAN	\$1,021,464	YANKTON	\$1,425,092
DEWEY	\$ 586,142	McCOOK	\$ 644,114	ZIEBACH	\$ 554,016
DOUGLAS	\$ 278,327	McPHERSON	\$ 869,146		
EDMUNDS	\$ 475,541	MARSHALL	\$ 380,636		
FALL RIVER	\$ 913,791	MEADE	\$2,608,696		

APPROVED BY: /s/ Reed Holwegner

DATE: 2/11/2022

Director, Legislative Research Council