Committee: Senate Transportation Friday, February 04, 2022 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Castleberry, Sen. Duvall, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Zikmund,

and Sen. Crabtree

Excused: Sen. Symens

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

#### The meeting was called to order by Senator Duvall

#### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 02<sup>ND</sup>

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Castleberry

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

# HB 1070: clarify certain provisions of the rural access infrastructure improvements grant program.

Presented by: Representative Caleb Finck, District 21 (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Kristie Jacobsen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

### **MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1070

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Duvall, Heinert, Schoenfish, Zikmund, and Crabtree

Excused: Symens

# HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1070 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

# HB 1078 : authorize the use of electric all-terrain and off-road vehicles on public highways.

Presented by: Senator Julie Frye-Mueller, District 30 Proponents: Representative Kent Peterson, District 19

> Myron L Rau, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association, Sioux Falls Darla Pollman Rogers, South Dakota Rural Electric Association, Pierre

## **MOTION:** AMEND HB 1078

1078B

On page 1, line 2, of the House Transportation Engrossed bill, after "highways" insert " and to declare an emergency"

On page 1, after line 19, of the House Transportation Engrossed bill, insert: "

**Section 2.** Whereas, this Act is necessary for the support of the state government and its

existing public institutions, an emergency is hereby declared to exist, and this Act shall be in full force and effect from and after its passage and approval."

Moved by: Heinert Second by: Schoenfish

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1078 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Heinert

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Duvall, Heinert, Schoenfish, Zikmund, and Crabtree

Excused: Castleberry and Symens

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Zikmund

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Kaitlyn Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARY DUVALL Mary Duvall, Chair