Committee: Senate Commerce and Energy Thursday, February 03, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Novstrup, Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Stalzer, Sen. Steinhauer, Sen. Tobin,

Sen. Zikmund, Sen. Wheeler, and Sen. Crabtree

Excused: Sen. Foster

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Crabtree

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 01ST

Moved by: Zikmund Second by: Wheeler

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Chairman Senator Crabtree passed the gavel to Vice-Chair Senator Wheeler.

SB 162: revise the discretionary formula for reduced taxation of new structures and residential property.

Presented by: Senator Casey Crabtree, District 8
Proponents: Representative Roger Chase, District 22

Julie M Johnson, Homes For South Dakota, Sisseton

Denise Hanzlik, South Dakota Multi Housing Association, Sioux Falls

Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre Tim Dougherty, South Dakota Home Builders Association, Pierre

Anna Hays, self, Rapid City

Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Opponents: Michael Houdyshell, Department of Revenue

Brian Burge, self, Beresford

MOTION: AMEND SB 162

162A

On page 3, line 7, of the Introduced bill, after "the " insert "increased " On page 3, line 9, of the Introduced bill, after "the " insert "increased " On page 3, line 11, of the Introduced bill, after "the " insert "increased " On page 3, line 13, of the Introduced bill, after "the " insert "increased "

On page 3, line 17, of the Introduced bill, after "construction." insert " The percentages stated in this

section are limited to that portion of the assessed value that exceeds the property's

assessed value in the year preceding the start of construction."

Moved by: Steinhauer Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 162 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Zikmund

Second by: Schoenbeck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Novstrup, Schoenbeck, Stalzer, Steinhauer, Tobin, Zikmund, Wheeler, and

Crabtree

Excused: Foster

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 65

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 53

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Steinhauer Second by: Stalzer

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Peggy Laurenz, Committee Secretary

/s/ CASEY CRABTREE
Casey Crabtree, Chair