Committee: Senate State Affairs Wednesday, February 09, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Schoenbeck, Sen. Duhamel, Sen. Crabtree, Sen. Duvall,

Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Rohl, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Diedrich, and Sen. Cammack

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Cammack

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, FEBRUARY 07<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Duvall Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 112: transfer the Office of Indian Education to the Department of

Education.

Presented by: Senator Troy Heinert, District 26 (Handout(s) 1, 2, 3)

Proponents: Sarah White, self Rapid City

Roquel Gourneau, self Lower Brule Cante Heart, self, Rapid City

Loren M Paul, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre

Kevin Killer, self, Pine Ridge

Sherry Johnson, self

RoseMary Clairmont, self, Rosebud

Opponents: David Flute, Department of Tribal Relations

Tiffany Sanderson, Department of Education

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 112 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Diedrich Second by: Duhamel

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-3-0-0)

Voting Yes: Schoenbeck, Duhamel, Crabtree, Duvall, Diedrich, and Cammack

Voting No: Schoenfish, Rohl, and Heinert

SB 146: create the Office of Ombudsman for State Employees.

Presented by: Senator Reynold Nesiba, District 15

Proponents: Eric Ollila, South Dakota State Employees Organization, Pierre

Anthony Pittman, self, Sioux Falls Patrick Gardner, self, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Darin Seeley, Bureau of Human Resources

**MOTION:** DEFER SB 146 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Duhamel, Crabtree, Duvall, Schoenfish, Rohl, Diedrich, and Cammack

Voting No: Heinert

Excused: Schoenbeck

SJR 503: Proposing and submitting to the voters at the next general election an amendment to the Constitution of the State of South Dakota to increase the maximum number of members of the South Dakota Legislature.

Presented by: Senator Troy Heinert, District 26

**MOTION:** DEFER SJR 503 TO THE 41<sup>ST</sup> LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Duhamel, Crabtree, Duvall, Schoenfish, Rohl, Diedrich, and Cammack

Voting No: Heinert

Excused: Schoenbeck

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Duvall Second by: Rohl

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Lorna Shell, Committee Secretary

/s/ GARY L. CAMMACK Gary L. Cammack, Chair