Committee: House Local Government Thursday, February 03, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Barthel, Rep. Cwach, Rep. Drury, Rep. Lana Greenfield, Rep. Chris

Johnson, Rep. Mortenson, Rep. Olson, Rep. Thomason, Rep. Weisgram,

Rep. Jamison, and Rep. York

Present (Remote): Rep. Reed Excused: Rep. Hoffman

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Jamison

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THURSDAY, JANUARY 27TH

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Thomason

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1077: require certain language for the oath or affirmation for civil office.

Presented by: Representative Tina Mulally, District 35

MOTION: AMEND HB 1077

1077C

On the previously adopted amendment (1077A), On page 1, after line 14, insert: "

Section 2. That § 13-8-14 be AMENDED:

13-8-14. The newly elected members of the school board shall qualify and assume

membership at the annual meeting of the school board in July, and appointed members at the next meeting following such appointment, by taking and subscribing to an oath or affirmation, as provided in § 3-1-5, to support the laws and Constitution of the United States and the State of South Dakota and to faithfully perform the duties of school board membership and by filing a

bond if required by law and having it approved."

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-0-4-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Mortenson, Reed, Thomason,

Weisgram, and Jamison

Excused: Hoffman, Chris Johnson, Olson, and York

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1077 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Cwach, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Chris Johnson, Mortenson, Olson,

Reed, Thomason, Weisgram, and Jamison

Excused: Hoffman and York

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1077 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1219: revise provisions regarding sanitary improvement districts.

Presented by: Representative Ryan Cwach, District 18

Opponents: Lindsey Riter-Rapp, South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems,

Madison (Handout(s) 1)

Andy Bruels, Deptartment of Agriculture and Natural Resources Randy Schmidt, Rapid Valley Sanitary District Water Service

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1219

Moved by: Olson Second by: Barthel

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-1-2-0)

Voting Yes: Barthel, Drury, Lana Greenfield, Chris Johnson, Mortenson, Olson, Reed,

Thomason, Weisgram, and Jamison

Voting No: Cwach

Excused: Hoffman and York

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Barthel Second by: Mortenson

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ GREG JAMISON
Greg Jamison, Vice-Chair