Committee: House State Affairs Wednesday, February 02, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Anderson, Rep. Beal, Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Gosch,

Rep. Hansen, Rep. Kevin Jensen, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Jamie Smith,

Rep. Wiese, Rep. Chris Johnson, and Rep. Kent Peterson

Excused: Rep. Reimer

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Kent Peterson

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, JANUARY 31ST

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: INTRODUCE A BILL AT THE REQUEST OF THE OFFICE OF THE

GOVERNOR ENTITLED:

prohibit medical abortion by telemedicine, to increase the penalty for the

unlicensed practice of medicine when performing a medical abortion,

and to declare an emergency.

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Hansen

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: INTRODUCE A BILL AT THE REQUEST OF THE OFFICE OF THE

GOVERNOR ENTITLED:

prohibit abortion after a fetal heartbeat is detectable.

Moved by: Chris Johnson

Action: Died for lack of a second

HB 1073: provide for diploma privilege for admittance to the practice of law.

Presented by: Representative Mary Fitzgerald, District 31

Proponents: Roger Baron, Self, Rapid City (Handout(s) #1)

John Fitzgerald, Self, St. Onge Anthony Murdock, Self, Sioux Falls Aaron Eiesland, Self, Rapid City Roger Tellinghuisen, Self, Rapid City

Lisa Nolen, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls

Jeff Holt, Self, Vermillion

Jeffery Church, Self, Vermillion (Handout(s) #2,3,4)

Brandon Raynes, Self, Vermillion

Opponents: Chief Justice Steve Jensen, Unified Judicial System

Jack Hieb, Self, Aberdeen Neil Fulton, Self, Vermillion Andrew L. Fergel, State Bar of South Dakota, Pierre

Justin Bell, South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid City

Steve Siegel, South Dakota Trial Lawyers Association, Sioux Falls

MOTION: DEFER HB 1073 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Gosch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Chaffee, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Lesmeister, Jamie Smith,

and Kent Peterson

Voting No: Beal, Goodwin, Wiese, and Chris Johnson

Excused: Reimer

HB 1033: expand the eligible projects for the local infrastructure improvement

grant fund.

Presented by: Travis Dovre, Governor's Office of Economic Development

Proponents: Justin G. Smith, Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Julie M Johnson, Homes For South Dakota, Sisseton Dean Krogman, SD Multi-Housing Association, Sioux Falls Dean Krogman, South Dakota Association of Realtors, Pierre

Dean Krogman, Independent Community of Bankers of South Dakota,

Watertown

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1033

Moved by: Goodwin Second by: Jamie Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Lesmeister, Jamie Smith, Wiese, Chris

Johnson, and Kent Peterson

Voting No: Gosch, Hansen, and Kevin Jensen

Excused: Reimer

HB 1139: create the Commission on Indian Affairs.

Presented by: Representative Shawn Bordeaux, District 26A Opponents: David Flute, Department of Tribal Relations

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1139

Moved by: Lesmeister
Second by: Jamie Smith
Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1139 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-2-1-0)

Voting Yes: Anderson, Beal, Chaffee, Goodwin, Gosch, Hansen, Kevin Jensen, Wiese,

Chris Johnson, and Kent Peterson

Voting No: Lesmeister and Jamie Smith

Excused: Reimer

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1143, 1144, AND 1140 UNTIL FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 04TH 2022

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Gosch Second by: Beal

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Pam Kean, Committee Secretary

/s/ KENT PETERSON Kent Peterson, Chair