Committee: Senate Transportation Wednesday, February 02, 2022 8:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Castleberry, Sen. Duvall, Sen. Schoenfish, Sen. Zikmund, Sen. Crabtree,

and Sen. Symens

Excused: Sen. Heinert

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Castleberry

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 26TH

Moved by: Duvall Second by: Symens

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SB 91: revise provisions regarding the use of certain lights by county highway department authorized vehicles.

Presented by: Senator Mary Duvall, District 24 Proponents: Steve Groen, Self, Sioux Falls

Senator Mary Duvall, District 24

Jason Husby, Department of Public Safety

Kristie Jacobsen, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

MOTION: AMEND SB 91

91A

On page 1, line 5, of the Introduced bill, after "Transportation," delete " any motor vehicle authorized by a county highway department,"

On page 1, line 16, of the Introduced bill, delete " while on duty maintaining the highway" and insert " in performance of winter highway maintenance duties"

On page 1, line 18, of the Introduced bill, delete "The authorization" and insert " Authorization for use of a blue light in accordance with this chapter"

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Symens

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: DO PASS SB 91 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Crabtree Second by: Symens

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Castleberry, Duvall, Schoenfish, Zikmund, Crabtree, and Symens

Excused: Heinert

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 91 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 115: make an appropriation for quiet zone railway crossings and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Jack Kolbeck, District 13

Proponents: Debra Owen, Greater Sioux Falls Chamber of Commerce, Sioux Falls

Opponents: Lara Williams, Bureau of Finance and Management

THE CHAIR DEFERRED SB 115 UNTIL A LATER DATE

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Symens Second by: Crabtree

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ JESSICA CASTLEBERRY
Jessica Castleberry, Vice-Chair