Committee: House Military and Veterans Affairs Wednesday, February 02, 2022 3:00 PM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Deutsch, Rep. Drury, Rep. Goodwin, Rep. Howard, Rep. Chris Johnson,

Rep. Marty, Rep. Olson, Rep. Overweg, Rep. Pourier, Rep. Tidemann,

Rep. York, and Rep. Gosch

Present (Remote): Rep. Gross

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Gosch

Major General Jeffery P. Marlette, Adjutant General of the South Dakota National Guard updated the committee on the status of the South Dakota National Guard. This included the strengths, responsibilities, and challenges of the guard.

Rep St John gave the history of the South Dakota Sioux Code Talkers

Darwin Wolf, sculptor, of the proposed Sioux Code Talker Memorial brought models of the sculptures. A handout was included.

HB 1067: require the waiver of animal adoption fees for veterans

Presented by: Representative Kevin Jensen, District 16

Opponents: Brian Burge, self, Beresford

Jennifer Ann Uecker, Pierre / Ft. Pierre Humane Society, Pierre Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1067 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Drury Second by: Howard

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (9-3-1-0)

Voting Yes: Deutsch, Drury, Howard, Marty, Overweg, Tidemann, York, Gross, and Gosch

Voting No: Goodwin, Olson, and Pourier

Excused: Chris Johnson

HB 1083: provide a partial property tax exemption for the surviving spouses of certain veterans.

Presented by: Representative Tim Goodwin, District 30

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1083

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: Tidemann

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Deutsch, Drury, Goodwin, Marty, Olson, Overweg, Pourier, Tidemann, York,

Gross, and Gosch

Excused: Howard and Chris Johnson

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Deutsch Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Deutsch, Drury, Goodwin, Marty, Olson, Overweg, Pourier, Tidemann, York,

Gross, and Gosch

Excused: Howard and Chris Johnson

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ SPENCER GOSCH Spencer Gosch, Chair