Committee: House Education

Roll Call

Present:Rep. Bartels, Rep. Davis, Rep. Dennert, Rep. Deutsch, Rep. Healy, Rep. Phil
Jensen, Rep. Keintz, Rep. Marty, Rep. Miskimins, Rep. Mortenson,
Rep. Odenbach, Rep. Soye, Rep. Sue Peterson, and Rep. Lana Greenfield
Excused:Excused:Rep. Stevens

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Lana Greenfield

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 26TH

Moved by:DennertSecond by:HealyAction:Prevailed by voice vote

SB 71 : revise certain provisions related to the partners in education tax credit program.

Presented by: Representative Jon Hansen, District 25

Proponents: Brian Gosch, self
Jasper Diegel, SD Partners in Education, Sioux Falls (Handout(s) 1, 2)
Chris Motz, South Dakota Catholic Conference, Sioux Falls
Norman Woods, Family Heritage Alliance Action, Rapid City
Phyllis Mary Heineman, South Dakota Partners in Education, Sioux Falls
Lisa Nolen, Americans For Prosperity, Sioux Falls
Michelle Schoenfelder, self, Huron
Opponents: Jessica Filler, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre (Handout(s) 3)
Rob L Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre

Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Pierre

MOTION: DO PASS SB 71

Moved by:	Phil Jensen
-----------	-------------

Second by: Sue Peterson

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-5-2-0)

- Voting Yes: Davis, Dennert, Phil Jensen, Marty, Odenbach, Soye, Sue Peterson, and Lana Greenfield
- Voting No: Bartels, Healy, Keintz, Miskimins, and Mortenson

Excused: Deutsch and Stevens

HB 1119 : revise the general state aid formula to provide adjustment for alternative education students participating in interscholastic activities.

Presented by: Representative Rocky Blare, District 21 (Handout(s) 4) Proponents: Jessica Filler, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, Pierre Rob L Monson, School Administrators of South Dakota, Pierre Sandra Marie Waltman, South Dakota Education Association, Pierre Opponents: Morgan Gruebele, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1119

Moved by:	Mortenson
Second by:	Davis
Action:	Failed by Majority Members Elect (7-7-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Davis, Deutsch, Healy, Keintz, Miskimins, Mortenson, and Lana Greenfield
- Voting No: Bartels, Dennert, Phil Jensen, Marty, Odenbach, Soye, and Sue Peterson
- Excused: Stevens

MOTION: WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION HB 1119

Moved by:	Healy
Second by:	Miskimins
Action:	Failed by Majority Members Elect (7-7-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Davis, Deutsch, Healy, Keintz, Miskimins, Mortenson, and Lana Greenfield
- Voting No: Bartels, Dennert, Phil Jensen, Marty, Odenbach, Soye, and Sue Peterson

Excused: Stevens

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1119

- Moved by: Mortenson Second by: Deutsch Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-3-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Bartels, Davis, Dennert, Deutsch, Healy, Phil Jensen, Keintz, Marty, Miskimins, Mortenson, and Lana Greenfield
- Voting No: Odenbach, Soye, and Sue Peterson

Excused: Stevens

HB 1137 : make an appropriation for high performance computing and data storage systems at South Dakota State University and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Representative Larry Tidemann, District 7 Proponents: Brian Maher, Board of Regents Barry Dunn, South Dakota State University, Brookings (Handout(s) 5) Dave Overby, Board of Regents Opponents: Hallie Getz, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: REFER HB 1137 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

- Moved by: Bartels
- Second by: Deutsch
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-2-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Bartels, Davis, Dennert, Deutsch, Healy, Keintz, Miskimins, Mortenson, Odenbach, Soye, Sue Peterson, and Lana Greenfield
- Voting No: Phil Jensen and Marty

Excused: Stevens

MOTION: TO TABLE HB 1158

Moved by:	Healy
Second by:	Bartels
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (14-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bartels, Davis, Dennert, Deutsch, Healy, Phil Jensen, Keintz, Marty, Miskimins, Mortenson, Odenbach, Soye, Sue Peterson, and Lana Greenfield

Excused: Stevens

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	Dennert
Second by:	Soye
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Ty J. Paulsen, Committee Secretary

/s/ LANA GREENFIELD Lana Greenfield, Chair