Committee: House Commerce and Energy

# Roll Call

Present: Rep. Anderson, Rep. Bartels, Rep. Bordeaux, Rep. Ladner, Rep. Perry, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Weis, Rep. Weisgram, Rep. Willadsen, Rep. Beal, and Rep. Milstead Present (Remote): Rep. Reed

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

### The meeting was called to order by Representative Milstead

### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 26<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Beal Second by: Perry Action: Prevailed by voice vote

# HB 1117 : revise a certain provision regarding standard nonforfeiture amounts for individual deferred annuities.

Presented by: Representative Mark Willadsen, District 11 (Handout(s) 1) Proponents: Justin G. Smith, American Council of Life Insurers, Washington

### MOTION: DO PASS HB 1117

Moved by:	Anderson
Second by:	Beal

- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)
- Voting Yes: Anderson, Bartels, Bordeaux, Ladner, Perry, Reed, Schneider, Vasgaard, Weis, Weisgram, Willadsen, Beal, and Milstead

### HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1117 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

### HB 1128 : protect the integrity of reemployment assistance.

Presented by: Representative Mark Willadsen, District 11

Proponents: T.J. Nelson, Opportunity Solutions Project, Tallahassee, FL George Eccarius, Americans For Prosperity, Arlington, VA

### MOTION: AMEND HB 1128

- On page 1, line 6, of the Introduced bill, delete "national directorate of new hires " and insert "state's New Hire Data and the National Directory of New Hires "
- On page 1, line 7, of the Introduced bill, delete " unemployment insurance rolls" and insert " list of reemployment assistance recipients"
- Moved by: Perry

Second by:	Anderson
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Bordeaux, Ladner, Perry, Reed, Schneider, Vasgaard, Weis, Weisgram, Willadsen, Beal, and Milstead
- Excused: Bartels

#### **DO PASS HB 1128 AS AMENDED** MOTION:

Moved by:	Perry
Second by:	Ladner
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (12-0-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Bordeaux, Ladner, Perry, Reed, Schneider, Vasgaard, Weis, Weisgram, Willadsen, Beal, and Milstead
- Excused: Bartels

### HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED HB 1128 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

### revise certain provisions regarding the minimum amount of a lottery SB 76 : prize that is subject to setoff.

Presented by: Representative Mark Willadsen, District 11

Proponents: Senator David Wheeler, District 22 (Handout(s) 2) William M Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Opponents: Alex Mayer, Department of Social Services

#### MOTION: DO PASS SB 76

- Moved by: Schneider
- Second by: Vasgaard
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-1-0)
- Voting Yes: Anderson, Bordeaux, Perry, Reed, Schneider, Vasgaard, Weisgram, and Willadsen
- Ladner, Weis, Beal, and Milstead Voting No:

Excused: Bartels

### exempt the provision of electricity through electric vehicle charging SB 80 : stations from the definition of electric utility.

Presented by: Representative Mark Willadsen, District 11

Steve Willard, South Dakota Electric Utility Companies, Pierre Proponents: Dawna Leitzke, South Dakota Petroleum & Propane Marketers Association, Pierre

Anna M. Hays, Elevate Rapid City, Rapid City

Chris Hill, South Dakota Municipal Electric Association, Fort Pierre (Handout(s) 3)

Trevor Jones, South Dakota Rural Electric Association, Pierre Doug Abraham, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre T.J. Nelson, Alliance for Automotive Innovation, Washington Myron L Rau, South Dakota Auto Dealers Association, Sioux Falls Gary Hanson, Public Utilities Commission

## MOTION: DO PASS SB 80

Moved by:	Anderson
Second by:	Weis
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-0-3-0)

- Voting Yes: Anderson, Bartels, Bordeaux, Perry, Reed, Weis, Weisgram, Willadsen, Beal, and Milstead
- Excused: Ladner, Schneider, and Vasgaard

### MOTION: ADJOURN

- Moved by: Perry
- Second by: Weis
- Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (10-0-3-0)
- Voting Yes: Anderson, Bartels, Bordeaux, Perry, Reed, Weis, Weisgram, Willadsen, Beal, and Milstead
- Excused: Ladner, Schneider, and Vasgaard

Jean Denton, Committee Secretary

/s/ RHONDA MILSTEAD Rhonda Milstead, Chair