Committee: Senate Health and Human Services Wednesday, February 02, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bolin, Sen. Foster, Sen. Rusch, Sen. V. J. Smith, Sen. Tobin, and Sen. Steinhauer Excused: Sen. Curd

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Steinhauer

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF MONDAY, JANUARY 31ST

Moved by:	Bolin
Second by:	Foster
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1004 : prohibit cardholder cultivation of medical cannabis.

Presented by	: Representative Fred Deutsch, District 4
Proponents:	Dean Krogman, State Medical Association SD, Sioux Falls
	Kara Dahl MD, SD State Medical Association, Aberdeen
	Ken Finn MD, self, Colorado Springs, CO
	Jason Alan Glodt, One Chance To Grow Up, Denver, CO
	Tony Harrison, self, Rapid City
	Staci Ackerman, South Dakota Sheriffs Association, Eureka
	Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Police Chiefs Association, Fort Pierre
	Yvonne Taylor, South Dakota Municipal League, Fort Pierre
Opponents:	Senator Michael Rohl, District 1 (Handout(s) #1)
	Kittrick Jeffries, Dakota Cannabis Consulting, Rapid City
	Melissa Rae Mentele, New Approach South Dakota, Emery (Handout(s) #2)
	Emmett Reistroffer, Genesis Farms LLC, Sioux Falls
	Ned Horsted, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls
	Terra Larson, SD Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Pierre

MOTION: DEFER HB 1004 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

- Moved by: Tobin
- Second by: V. J. Smith

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (4-2-1-0)

- Voting Yes: Foster, V. J. Smith, Tobin, and Steinhauer
- Voting No: Bolin and Rusch

Excused: Curd

SB 109 : make an appropriation to pay increased costs incurred in the construction of an appropriate regional facility and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Senator Lee Schoenbeck, District 5 Proponents: Kari Johnston, self, Watertown Terrance Lee Dosch, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health, Pierre Lee Gabel, self, Watertown Opponents: Morgan Gruebele, Bureau of Finance and Management

MOTION: REFER SB 109 TO JOINT COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS DO PASS

Moved by:	Tobin
Second by:	Foster
Action:	Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, Tobin, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by:	V. J. Smith
Second by:	Tobin
Action:	Prevailed by voice vote

Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary

/s/ WAYNE H. STEINHAUER Wayne H. Steinhauer, Chair