Committee: House Taxation Thursday, January 27, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Chaffee, Rep. Derby, Rep. Drury, Rep. Jamison, Rep. Koth, Rep. Olson,

Rep. Ernie Otten, Rep. Pourier, Rep. Randolph, Rep. Thomason, Rep. Pischke,

and Rep. Dennert

Present (Remote): Rep. Tidemann

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Representative Dennert

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 25TH

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Randolph

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1053: authorize counties to issue bonds for certain expenditures funded by a gross receipts tax.

Presented by: Representative Ernie Otten, District 6

Proponents: Jim Schmidt, Lincoln County Commissioner, Sioux Falls

D. Lee Gabel, Codington County Commissioner, Self (Handout(s) 1) Richard Tieszen, South Dakota Sheriffs' Association, Eureka (Handout(s) 2) Eric Erickson, South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Pierre

Opponents: Doug Schinkel, Department of Revenue

William M Van Camp, South Dakota Retailers Association, Pierre Lindsey Riter-Rapp, National Federation of Independent Business,

Indianapolis, IN

David Owen, South Dakota Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Pierre

Jasper Diegel, SD Hotel & Lodging Association, Pierre

MOTION: AMEND HB 1053

1053A

On page 1, line 23, of the Introduced bill, after "buildings;" insert "

(4) The furnishing of facilities in subdivisions (1) to (3) with equipment necessary for the function of

those facilities;"

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Pischke

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: AMEND HB 1053

1053B

On page 2, line 3, of the Introduced bill, delete "the" and insert "all registered"

On page 2, line 3, of the Introduced bill, after "voters" insert " voting at the bond election"

On page 3, line 19, of the Introduced bill, delete " § 10-52A-9" and insert " section 9 of this Act"

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Thomason

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: AMEND HB 1053

1053E

On page 2, line 3, of the Introduced bill, after "bonds." insert "

A county may only hold a bond election to authorize the issuance of bonds pursuant to this chapter if

the county has not imposed a county gross receipts tax pursuant to this chapter in the

previous five years."

Moved by: Pischke Second by: Randolph

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Derby, Drury, Jamison, Koth, Olson, Ernie Otten, Pourier, Randolph,

Thomason, Tidemann, Pischke, and Dennert

MOTION: AMEND HB 1053

1053F

On page 1, line 22, of the Introduced bill, after "16-22-5.1;" delete "

(3) Construction, repair, or renovation of county maintenance buildings; and

(4) Construction or repair of county roads and bridges."

Moved by: Ernie Otten Second by: Chaffee

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DEFER HB 1053 UNTIL THURSDAY,

FEBRUARY 03RD, 2022

Moved by: Derby Second by: Drury

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (13-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Derby, Drury, Jamison, Koth, Olson, Ernie Otten, Pourier, Randolph,

Thomason, Tidemann, Pischke, and Dennert

HB 1081: add solar energy tax revenue to the calculation of local effort for

state aid to school districts.

Presented by: Representative Timothy Goodwin, District 30

Proponents: Katie Albers, Self, New Underwood, SD

Laurel Venhuizen, New Underwood School Board, New Underwood, SD

Robert Raker, West River Electric, Wall, SD

Opponents: Morgan Gruebele, Bureau of Finance and Management

Jeff Partridge, Bureau of Finance and Management

Senator John Wiik, District 4

Dianna Miller, Large School Group, Pierre

Mitch Richter, United School Association of South Dakota, Madison

MOTION: DEFER HB 1081 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Ernie Otten

Second by: Koth

Action: Was not acted on.

MOTION: SUBSTITUTE MOTION: DO PASS HB 1081

Moved by: Derby Second by: Randolph

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (6-7-0-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Derby, Drury, Olson, Pourier, and Randolph

Voting No: Jamison, Koth, Ernie Otten, Thomason, Tidemann, Pischke, and Dennert

Revert to previous motion

MOTION: DEFER HB 1081 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Ernie Otten

Second by: Koth

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (8-4-1-0)

Voting Yes: Chaffee, Jamison, Koth, Ernie Otten, Thomason, Tidemann, Pischke, and

Dennert

Voting No: Derby, Olson, Pourier, and Randolph

Excused: Drury

THE CHAIR DEFERRED HB 1082 AND 1045 UNTIL TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 01ST 2022

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Chaffee Second by: Pischke

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Kaitlyn Baucom, Committee Secretary

/s/ DREW DENNERT Drew Dennert, Chair