Committee: House Agriculture and Natural Resources Thursday, January 27, 2022 7:45 AM

Roll Call

Present: Rep. Blare, Rep. Finck, Rep. Lesmeister, Rep. Marty, Rep. Overweg,

Rep. York, Rep. Schneider, Rep. Vasgaard, Rep. Wink, and Rep. Ladner

Excused: Rep. Chase, Rep. Goodwin, and Rep. Hoffman

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

## The meeting was called to order by Representative Overweg

**MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 25<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Finck Second by: York

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

HB 1034: make an appropriation from the coordinated natural resources conservation fund to the State Conservation Commission and to declare an emergency.

Presented by: Alex Roeber, Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources (Handout(s) 1)

Proponents: Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Paul Lepisto, South Dakota Division of the Izaak Walton League of America,

McCook Lake

**MOTION:** REFER HB 1034 TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

Moved by: Vasgaard Second by: Wink

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Lesmeister, Marty, Overweg, York, Schneider, Vasgaard,

Wink, and Ladner

Excused: Goodwin and Hoffman

SB 35: increase penalties for actions related to grain transactions.

Presented by: Chris Nelson, Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission

Proponents: Kathy Zander, South Dakota Agri-Business Association, PIERRE

Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

MOTION: DO PASS SB 35

Moved by: Wink Second by: Schneider

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Lesmeister, Marty, Overweg, York, Schneider, Vasgaard,

Wink, and Ladner

Excused: Goodwin and Hoffman

## SB 39 : reduce the period for filing claims upon the revocation of a grain buyer license.

Presented by: Chris Nelson, Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission

Proponents: Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron

Kathy Zander, South Dakota Agri-Business Association, PIERRE Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

Opponents: Jarrett Rix, Self, Groton

Others: Cody Chambliss, Public Utilities Commission

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 39

Moved by: Chase Second by: Finck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Lesmeister, Marty, Overweg, York, Schneider, Vasgaard,

Wink, and Ladner

Excused: Goodwin and Hoffman

## SB 38 : prohibit a grain broker from engaging in certain transactions or activities and to provide a penalty therefor.

Presented by: Chris Nelson, Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission

Proponents: Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Kathy Zander, South Dakota Agri-Business Association, PIERRE

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 38

Moved by: Finck Second by: Ladner

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Lesmeister, Marty, Overweg, York, Schneider, Vasgaard,

Wink, and Ladner

Excused: Goodwin and Hoffman

## HB 1037: revise the penalty for certain willful violations by grain buyers and grain warehouse operators.

Presented by: Tom Deadrick, Office of the Attorney General

Proponents: Chris Nelson, Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission

Matthew M Bogue, South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation, Huron Brenda Forman, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, Pierre

**MOTION:** DO PASS HB 1037

Moved by: Chase Second by: Finck

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (11-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Blare, Chase, Finck, Lesmeister, Marty, Overweg, York, Schneider, Vasgaard,

Wink, and Ladner

Excused: Goodwin and Hoffman

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Finck

Second by: Lesmeister

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Mary Kirk, Committee Secretary

/s/ MARTY OVERWEG Marty Overweg, Chair