Committee: Senate Agriculture and Natural ResourcesThursday, January 27, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Cammack, Sen. Duvall, Sen. Frye-Mueller, Sen. Heinert, Sen. Klumb,

Sen. Herman Otten, and Sen. V. J. Smith

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Senator Heinert

MOTION: TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF TUESDAY, JANUARY 25TH

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

MOTION: To amend the minutes from January 25, 2022, to reflect that Kevin

Robling's appointment as Secretary of Game, Fish, and Parks was not

placed on the consent calendar.

Moved by: Duvall Second by: Klumb

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

SCR 601: expressing support for the 2021 South Dakota Coordinated Plan for Natural Resources Conservation.

Presented by: Senator Joshua Klumb, District 20 (Handout(s) 1,2)

Proponents: Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Barry McLaury, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources

MOTION: DO PASS SCR 601

Moved by: Duvall Second by: Cammack

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Heinert, Klumb, and Herman Otten

Excused: Frye-Mueller and V. J. Smith

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SCR 601 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 88: revise certain provisions regarding the State Conservation Commission and conservation districts.

Presented by: Senator Mary Duvall, District 24 (Handout(s) 3)

Proponents: Angela Ehlers, SD Association of Conservation Districts, Pierre

Barry McLaury, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources

MOTION: DO PASS SB 88

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Klumb

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (7-0-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Frye-Mueller, Heinert, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J.

Smith

HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 88 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

HB 1046: revise the disposal fee for large-scale solid waste disposal facilities operated by political subdivisions.

Presented by: Jim Wendte, Dept. of Agriculture and Nat Resources

Opponents: Richard Tieszen, Waste Management of South Dakota, Lakeville

MOTION: DO PASS HB 1046

Moved by: Cammack Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-1-0-0)

Voting Yes: Cammack, Duvall, Heinert, Klumb, Herman Otten, and V. J. Smith

Voting No: Frye-Mueller

MOTION: ADJOURN

Moved by: Klumb Second by: Duvall

Action: Prevailed by voice vote

Amber Hodgin, Committee Secretary

/s/ TROY HEINERT Troy Heinert, Chair