Committee: Senate Health and Human Services Friday, January 21, 2022 10:00 AM

Roll Call

Present: Sen. Bolin, Sen. Foster, Sen. Rusch, Sen. Tobin, and Sen. Steinhauer

Present (Remote): Sen. V. J. Smith

Excused: Sen. Curd

OTHERS PRESENT: See Original Minutes

#### The meeting was called to order by Senator Steinhauer

#### **MOTION:** TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 19<sup>TH</sup>

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Foster

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd and Tobin

#### SB 17: revise provisions regarding cost reimbursement associated with medical cannabis.

Presented by: Senator Bryan Breitling, District 23

Proponents: Mitchell Rave, Sanford Health, SIOUX FALLS

#### **MOTION:** DO PASS SB 17

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Rusch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd and Tobin

# HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 17 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

#### SB 18: revise rulemaking authority related to medical cannabis.

Presented by: Senator Bryan Breitling, District 23

#### **MOTION:** DO PASS SB 18

Moved by: Rusch Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd and Tobin

# HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 19: provide that health care facilities and accredited prevention and treatment facilities may establish reasonable restrictions related to the medical use of cannabis.

Presented by: Senator Bryan Breitling, District 23

Proponents: Terrance Lee Dosch, South Dakota Council of Community Behavioral Health,

Pierre

Tim Rave, South Dakota Association of Healthcare Organizations, Sioux Falls

Mark B Deak, South Dakota Health Care Association, Sioux Falls

**MOTION:** AMEND SB 19

19B

On page 1, line 1, of the Introduced bill, after "facilities" insert ", mental health centers, "

On page 2, line 33, of the Introduced bill, after "facility" insert " or a mental health center, as defined

in subdivision 27A-1-1(16), '

On page 4, line 31, of the Introduced bill, after "34-20A-2, " insert "or a mental health center, as

defined in subdivision 27A-1-1(16), "

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Rusch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd and Tobin

MOTION: DO PASS SB 19 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Rusch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd and Tobin

#### HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 19 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

# SB 21: revise provisions related to the revocation of a medical cannabis registry identification card.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler, District 22

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 21

Moved by: Rusch

Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd and Tobin

# HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 21 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

# SB 27: revise the provisions regarding the denial or nonrenewal of a patient registry identification card.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler, District 22

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 27

Moved by: Rusch Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd and Tobin

### HAVING PASSED UNANIMOUSLY, THE CHAIR CERTIFIED SB 27 AS UNCONTESTED AND AS SUCH BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR.

SB 20 : revise the medical purpose defense related to the medical use of cannabis.

Presented by: Senator Helene Duhamel, District 32

Proponents: Mark Vargo, Pennington County States Attorney, Rapid City

Jenna Schweiss, South Dakota State's Attorneys Association, Pierre

Senator Bryan Breitling, District 23

Opponents: Kittrick Jeffries, Dakota Cannabis Consulting, Rapid City

Terra Larson, SD Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Rapid City

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 20

Moved by: Rusch

Action: Died for lack of a second

MOTION: DEFER SB 20 TO THE 41ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Foster

Action: Failed by Majority Members Elect (3-2-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, and Steinhauer

Voting No: Rusch and V. J. Smith

Excused: Curd and Tobin

**MOTION:** TO TABLE SB 20

Moved by: V. J. Smith Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-0-2-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd and Tobin

SB 26 : revise the definition of practitioner for purposes of the medical cannabis program.

Presented by: Senator David Wheeler, District 22

Proponents: Jeremiah M. Murphy, Cannabis Industry Association of SD, Sioux Falls

Samantha Chapman, Urban Indian Health

Opponents: Justin Bell, South Dakota State Medical Association, Sioux Falls

Kara Dahl MD, SD State Medical Association, Aberdeen

**MOTION:** AMEND SB 26

26A

On page 4, line 10, of the Introduced bill, delete " nurse practitioner" and insert " advanced practice

registered nurse"

Moved by: Tobin Second by: Bolin

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, Tobin, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd

**MOTION:** DO PASS SB 26 AS AMENDED

Moved by: Tobin Second by: Foster

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (6-0-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, Tobin, and Steinhauer

Excused: Curd

**MOTION:** ADJOURN

Moved by: Bolin Second by: Rusch

Action: Prevailed by Majority Members Elect (5-1-1-0)

Voting Yes: Bolin, Foster, Rusch, V. J. Smith, and Tobin

Senate Health and Human Services		Friday, January 21, 2022 10:00 AM
Voting No:	Steinhauer	
Excused:	Curd	
Doug Mortenson, Committee Secretary		
		/s/ WAYNE H. STEINHAUER Wayne H. Steinhauer, Chair